IPL 2018 Orange Cap: MS Dhoni and Suryakumar Yadav rise as Ambati Rayudu remains on top after Match 27

Here are the top ten leading run-scorers list of Indian Premier League 2018.

Latest News
IPL 2018 Orange Cap: MS Dhoni and Suryakumar Yadav rise as Ambati Rayudu remains on top after Match 27


Chennai Super Kings (CSK) batsman Ambati Rayudu continued to wear the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2018 Orange Cap after Match 27 on Saturday. The CSK opener made a 35-ball 46 in his team's eight-wicket loss against Mumbai Indians (MI) at the Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Pune.

In the process, Rayudu became the first man to cross the 300-run mark in IPL 11. The right-hander now has 329 runs from seven matches. He has been in phenomenal touch this season, playing a crucial role with the bat in his team's rise to the top of the points table.

Another massive gainer on Saturday was MI opener Suryakumar Yadav. The right-hander started the day on ninth position in the leading run-scorers list, but ended up at third thanks to a 33-ball 44. Surya now has 274 runs from seven games.

CSK skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni re-entered the top ten on Saturday thanks to his modest knock of 26 from 21. He is now on tenth position with 235 runs from seven innings.

Royal Challengers Bangalore's AB de Villiers held on to his second position with 280 runs from six matches. Kings XI Punjab's KL Rahul and Sunrisers Hyderabad skipper Kane Williamson rounded up the top five.

IPL 2018 is at its half-way stage and this is, perhaps, the first time when the Orange Cap race is so tight in the cash-rich T20 tournament's history. No player, barring Rayudu to an extent, has been able to pull well clear. From the second position to the tenth, all batsmen are within merely 45 runs of each other. With each team having at least seven matches left, the race to the top of the run-scorers list is only going to get hotter.

IPL 2018- Race for Orange Cap: Here's list of top scorers of Indian Premier League 11

IPL 2018 Orange Cap Most Runs
Position Player Team Matches Runs High Scores
1 Ambati Rayudu Chennai Super Kings 7 329 82
2 AB de Villiers Royal Challengers Bangalore 6 280 90*
3 Suryakumar Yadav Mumbai Indians 7 274 72
4 KL Rahul Kings XI Punjab 7 268 60
5 Kane Williamson Sunrisers Hyderabad 7 259 84
6 Chris Gayle Kings XI Punjab 4 252 104*
7 Virat Kohli Royal Challengers Bangalore 6 249 92*
8 Shreyas Iyer Delhi Daredevils 7 244 93*
9 Sanju Samson Rajasthan Royals 6 239 92*
10 MS Dhoni Chennai Super Kings 7 235 79*

The Orange Cap is worn by the leading run-scorer in the IPL at any given moment. The player with the most runs at the end of the tournament is awarded a special prize.

*This list was updated after Match 27 of IPL 2018, played between Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians.

Find your daily dose of news & explainers in your WhatsApp. Stay updated, Stay informed-  Follow DNA on WhatsApp.

Live tv