Home »  News »  India

Prime Minister Narendra Modi takes charge at PMO

Tuesday, 27 May 2014 - 10:30am IST | Place: New Delhi | Agency: ANI

  • modi Prime Minister Narendra Modi will be meeting the heads of state of all eight SAARC nations on Tuesday

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has reached South Block and has taken charge at the Prime Minister's Office (PMO). The prime minister has a packed schedule on Tuesday, where he will be meeting all the eight South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) Heads of Government.

A Ministry of External Affairs (MEA) release on its site on Monday ​gave ​a detailed list of the timings of the scheduled meetings between Modi and the heads of state.

Afghanistan President Hamid Karzai will make a courtesy call to Modi on Tuesday in the morning at 9.30 am while his Maldivian counterpart Abdulla Yameen Abdul Gayoom is likely to meet Modi at 10.05 am. Following him will be the Sri Lankan President Mahinda Rajapaksa who will pay a courtesy call to Modi at 10.30 am. Bhutan Prime Minister Tshering Tobgay is scheduled to meet Modi at 10.55 am, while his Mauritian counterpart Navinchandra Ramgoolam will hold parleys with Modi at 11.20 am. Nepalese Prime Minister Sushil Koirala is set to meet Modi at 11.45 am. All eyes would be on Pakistan Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif who will hold meeting with Modi at 12.10 in the afternoon. Bangladesh Parliament Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury will meet Modi at 12.45 pm.

Narendra Modi was administered oath of office and secrecy by President Pranab Mukherjee as India's 15th Prime Minister along with his 44-member Cabinet on Monday evening. The ministers who were sworn in included Arun Jaitley, Rajnath Singh, Sushma Swaraj, Smriti Irani, Nitin Gadkari, Venkaiah Naidu, Gopinath Munde, Ravi Shankar Prasad, VKSingh, Ram Vilas Paswan among others.

The swearing in ceremony was attended by several world leaders including Pakistan Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif, Sri Lankan President Mahinda Rajapaksa and Afghanistan President Hamid Karzai. Heads of Bhutan, Nepal, Bangladesh, Maldives and Mauritius were also present at the swearing-in ceremony.

The swearing in ceremony was also attended by a host of Bollywood celebrities including Salman Khan, Hrithik Roshan, Vivek Oberoi, and Dharmendra.

Outgoing Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, Congress president Sonia Gandhi and party vice president Rahul Gandhi, besides leaders of various other parties and chief ministers of a number of states, were also present at the swearing in ceremony. 

Jump to comments

Recommended Content