Home »  News »  India

Newly elected Satypal Singh gives credit to people for his win

Saturday, 17 May 2014 - 4:01pm IST | Place: New Delhi | Agency: ANI

Newly elected Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), MP Satyapal Singh, on Saturday, gave the credit for his win to the people's desire to bring a change and termed his victory as an achievement of the people.

"It feels great. This is the achievement of the people of this constituency. People felt that they have been betrayed in the name of religion and caste. There was a wave of change, which is why BJP has won. This is a win for the people of Baghpat. This victory was due to the youth and entire spectrum of the society who had backed the BJP and hence we won," Singh said.

The BJP MP also stated that his aim was to work like a servant for his constituency, Baghpat, and that he has not entered into politics for status, as had that before. When asked if he would like to see himself in the Narendra Modi's cabinet, he said, "I am a small worker of party. Whatever responsibility my party asks to me take I will gladly welcome it."

Satyapal Singh, former IPS officer and an ex- Mumbai police commissioner defeated Civil Aviation Minister Ajit Singh from Baghpat Lok Sabha constituency. The BJP-led NDA secured an absolute majority in elections for the 16th Lok Sabha by claiming 337 seats. Of these, the BJP won in 283 seats. Among the other 15 parties in the coalition, only the SHS (19 seats) and the TDP (16) managed to achieve double digit figures.

In contrast, the ruling UPA could manage to win only 58 seats. Of these, the Congress won 43, its worst electoral performance since 1977. The remaining nine members of the ruling coalition could manage only single digit results, with the NCP coming second with five seats, and the RJD with four. Friday's result was the largest anti-incumbency vote in India's history. It was driven by a desire for change and anger against corruption and the sluggish economy fanned directly or indirectly by the Congress-led UPA regime, which was in power for a decade.

It also represented the people's hope for a better India under BJP prime ministerial nominee Narendra Modi.

Jump to comments

Recommended Content