Home »  News »  India

Narendra Modi to be formally selected for PM's post by MPs on Tuesday

Saturday, 17 May 2014 - 4:00pm IST | Place: New Delhi | Agency: ANI

Hailing the verdict of the people, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) president Rajnath Singh on Saturday announced that the newly elected Members of Parliament of the party will meet on Tuesday to elect their leader for the post of Prime Minister of India.

"The BJP Parliamentary Party will meet at noon on May 20. I don't think we need to tell you who will be the elected leader," said Rajnath after the meeting of BJP Parliamentary Board which was attended by the party top brass. He also informed that the date for the swearing in ceremony of BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) prime minister-designate Narendra Modi has not been decided.

"The BJP parliamentary board hails the verdict given by the people of India in 2014 General Elections. The people of India have spoken and spoken decisively," he said. "We have declared Narendra Modi as our Prime Minister designate with unanimity. We congratulate him on running a wonderful campaign and achieving a landmark victory for us," he added. He also expressed his gratitude to the citizens of the country and the BJP supporters for giving the BJP a vote of confidence in Independent India. "This is a historic moment and result, and all the credit goes to the people of India. It is our mission to create an India that favours development," he added.

Rajnath Singh also said that the BJP parliamentary board expresses its deep sense of appreciation for all of its workers, leaders and, social and cultural organizations, who put in a herculean effort. "The parliamentary board appreciated the vision Modi gave to our campaign. The visionary leadership of Narendra Modi caught the imagination of the people of India," he added. Meanwhile, the BJP appointed observers for the states where assembly polls were also held simultaneously. The party appointed Rajiv Pratap Rudy as the observer for Arunachal Pradesh, Prakash Javadekar for Odisha, Ravi Shankar Prasad for Andhra and Jagat Prakash Laddha for Telangana.

The party also appointed Thawar Chand Gehlot as the observer for Gujarat. His task will be to find the successor to Modi as the chief minister of the state. 

Jump to comments

Recommended Content