Home » India

Arvind Kejriwal to be Delhi's seventh Chief Minister

Monday, 23 December 2013 - 8:31pm IST | Agency: IANS

When he takes oath, Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) leader Arvind Kejriwal will become Delhi's seventh chief minister.

The city got its first chief minister in 1952 in Chaudhary Brahm Prakash of the Congress. He remained in office till 1955.

He was succeeded by party colleague G.N. Singh, who served till 1956.

In 1956, Delhi ceased to be a state and became a centrally administered union territory.

During this time, the president of India was directly responsible for the capital's administration through the Lt. Governor.

Elections to the Delhi assembly were again held in 1993, when the Bharatiya Janata Party's Madan Lal Khurana came to power. He bowed out in 1996.

He was followed by BJP's Saheb Singh Verma (1996-98) and Sushma Swaraj, who held office for just over a month before elections were called in November 1998.

The Congress then came to power. Sheila Dikshit became the chief minister -- and remained in office for 15 years until December 2013.

Jump to comments

Around the web