Home »  News »  India

2007 Replay: Narendra Modi retains all ministers

Friday, 30 November 2012 - 6:06pm IST | Place: Ahmedabad | Agency: dna

Except for Jaysinh Chauhan, all the ministers have been retained; even as the candidate for Chauhan’s Prantij seat remains to be announced.

It’s a replica of 2007. Cast has remained more or less the same as the Narendra Modi-led government prepares for the showdown 2012. The old trusted lieutenants have been awarded and it is perhaps for the first time that apart from sitting MLAs, no member of the Modi cabinet has been dropped by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), if one scans through the two lists announced by the party, so far.

However, seven ministers (see table) had to move out and find new home after their previous constituencies seized to exist after the Election Commission’s (EC) delimitation exercise.

Apart from minister of education and sports, Jaysinh Chauhan, all other ministers have got tickets. However, it must be noted that Chauhan’s constituency Prantij has been excluded in the first as well as second list. Looking at Modi’s ‘no drop theory’, his name may also be included in the list.

Some of the changes have been forced after constituencies of these ministers have been reserved by the Election Commission, post-delimitation. For example, minister for water supply and urban development, Nitin Patel will be contesting from Mehsana instead of Kadi (2007), which has been reserved for schedule caste now.

Some of the ministers have also taken refuge in opting for safe seats to thwart the anti-incumbency factor in their previous seats. Two high-profile cabinet members, minister of revenue Anandiben Patel and minister for state for energy, finance, petroleum and industry Saurabh Patel fall in this list. While Anandiben has changed her seat from Patan to Ghatlodia, Saurabh Patel has switched to Akota from Botad.

Minister for law and justice Pradipsinh Jadeja has also changed his constituency from Asarva to Vatva. It seems this change was necessitated after retired bureaucrat RM Patel joined the party. Patel who was the force behind the success of Modi’s Garib Kalyan Mela, has been rewarded with Asarva seat.

In case of Jaswantsinh Bhabhor, minister for tribal development, it was a forced decision to move to Limkheda (reserved seat) since his Randhikpur constituency seized to exists after delimitation.
Constituency for minister of state for water supply, health and family welfare, Parabat Patel has also changed from Tharad to Vav.

Who's Going Where
Name                                    From              To
Anandiben Patel                 Patan         Ghatlodia
Saurabh Patel                     Botad         Akota
Pardipsinh Jadeja              Asarva       Vatva
Narottam Patel                   Chorasi     Udhna
Nitin Patel                            Kadi           Mehsana
Mangubhai Patel                Navsari     Gandevi
Parbat Patel                         Vav             Tharad

Jump to comments

Recommended Content