Home »  Sport

Truck race at Buddh

Sunday, 23 March 2014 - 8:35am IST | Place: New Delhi | Agency: dna

Twelve racing trucks will roll down the race track at the Buddh international Circuit tomorrow to mark the first truck-racing championship in Asia. Brought to India by Tata Motors, the Tata Prima T1 Racing Championship will have two races -- a sprint of five laps and a longer race of 10. In the fray are six teams, with two drivers each, composed of champion truck-racing drivers from Europe and UK. Twelve experienced British drivers will be competing for six teams at the maiden heavy-duty machine's race.

The Tata T1 Prima truck, first unveiled at an event earlier this year, underwent 22 modifications laid out by the regulations of the British Truck Racing Association (BTRA). The trucks can touch speeds of about 110 kmph. Other modifications were made to the cab design, the engine, fuel tanks, brake cooling system, propeller shaft guards, seats with safety belts, exhaust, and steering wheel etc.

The six participating teams, unveiled in a grand ceremony today, include Castrol Vecton, Cummins, Tata Technologies Motorsports, Allied Partners, Dealer Daredevils and Dealer Warriors.

The organisers have followed guidelines from British Truck Racing Association to make the trucks fit for racing and have subsequently made 22 modifications to meet safety and performance needs.

Jump to comments

Recommended Content