Home »  News »  India »  Pune

Know your candidate: Quick Info on the fantastic four from Pune

Tuesday, 1 April 2014 - 6:41am IST | Place: Pune | Agency: dna

Name: Anil Shirole
Party: Bharitya Janata Party
Constituency: Pune
Spec sheet: Shirole is BJP's city unit president and has served as a corporator for two decades. He had contested in the Bopodi assembly segment election and lost in the 2009 LS election. He has been RSS Swayamsewak for four decades and was jailed during emergency.

Name: Vishwajeet Kadam Congress
Party: Congress
Constituency: Pune
Spec sheet: Highly-educated, Kadam is the son of cabinet minister Patangrao Kadam. He has been elected for a second term as the Maharashtra Pradesh Youth Congress president. He has a PhD on co-operative banks and is the youngest in the fray in Pune at 33 years of age.

Name: Deepak Paygude
Party: Maharashtra Navnirman Sena
Constituency: Pune
Spec sheet: Paygude was a Shiv Sena MLA for two terms between 1995 and 2004. He became a corporator in 1992 and served as Shiv Sena city unit president. He is the founder of Lok Sewa Cooperative bank, Lok Sewa Kitchen and Lok Sewa Bazaar. He has founded 17 institutions including Sainik School for girls and boys.

Name:Subhash Ware
Party: Aam Aadmi Party
Constituency: Pune
Spec sheet: Ware was the national president of the Rashtra Seva Dal, which is considered to be the Alma Matter of all the socialist and progressive leaders in the city. Known for his sincerity and never-say-die attitude, Ware is the only recognised full-time social workers among the candidates.

Jump to comments

Recommended Content