Home »  News »  India

Zero turnout in repolls in Nagaland

Thursday, 15 May 2014 - 6:30pm IST | Place: Kohima | Agency: PTI

Repoll at five polling stations under 39-Sanis Assembly Constituency of Wokha District in Nagaland reported zero turnout today, a senior Election Commission (EC) official said. 

Polling officials waited for electorates since morning, but not a single electorate turned up, Returning Officer (RO) for Lok Sabha polls in Nagaland Temjen Toy said. Though there was no official communication from the voters behind the 'nil' turnout, Toy said that villagers were resenting imposition of the repoll and questioned on what grounds the EC ordered it. 

Repoll was ordered at 10-Lakhuti-I, 11-Lakhuti-II, 13-Lakhuti-IV, 36-Lakhuti-VII and 37-Lakhuti-VIII, under sub section (2) of section 58 of the Representation of People Act 1951, stating that the polls on April 9 were void. The Congress submitted a complaint to the EC on April 25 alleging that the April 9 elections had been marred with massive proxy voting and election malpractices demanding repoll in over 1300 polling stations.

The ruling Naga People's Front (NPF), however, lodged a complaint with the EC against its decision of repolling alleging that the move was ordered on "mere allegations" of the Congress. 

Jump to comments

Recommended Content