Home »  News »  India

Tight security in place for counting in Uttar Pradesh: Chief Electoral Officer

Thursday, 15 May 2014 - 8:07pm IST | Place: Lucknow | Agency: PTI

Tight security arrangements will be in place for counting of votes at 76 counting centres in Uttar Pradesh on Friday where 1,288 candidates, including Narendra Modi and Sonia Gandhi, have contested for the 80 Lok Sabha seats.

"For counting in 80 Lok Sabha constituencies spread over 75 districts, total 76 counting centres have been made of which two are in Amethi," state Chief Electoral Officer Umesh Sinha told reporters on Thursday.

He said that out of 80 constituencies, counting of 37 constituencies will be held in two districts while counting of three constituencies will be done in three districts and counting of rest of the constituencies will be held in one district.

Sinha said that 112 observers have been appointed to keep an eye on counting process while 10 special poll observers have been appointed for Jhansi, Kheri, Kairana, Bijnor, Farukhabad, Azamgarh, Kannauj, Firozabad and Fatehpur Sikri constituencies.

Tight security will be in place for counting and entry of vehicles have been banned inside 100 meter area of the counting centres, he said.

Prominent candidates of different parties whose fate will be decided in the counting tomorrow, included Narendra Modi (Varanasi), Sonia Gandhi (Rae Bareli), Rahul Gandhi (Amethi), Mulayam Singh Yadav (Azamgarh and Mainpuri), Rajnath Singh (Lucknow) and Murli Manohar Joshi (Kanpur).

Besides them performance of former Chief ministers Arvind Kejriwal (Varanasi) and Uma Bharti (Jhansi), BJP leaders Maneka Gandhi (Pilibhit) and her son Varun Gandhi (Sultanpur), Union Minister Salman Khurshid (Farukhabad), Beni Prasad Verma (Gonda), Pradeep Jain Aditya (Jhansi), Ajit Singh (Baghpat), RPN Singh (Kushinagar) and Sriprakash Jaiswal (Kanpur) in elections would also be keenly watched by obsevers.

Jump to comments

Recommended Content