Home »  News »  India

President's rule in Telangana to be revoked on June 2, to continue in Andhra Pradesh

Wednesday, 28 May 2014 - 7:07pm IST | Place: Mumbai | Agency: PTI

  • dna Research & Archives

The President's rule imposed in united Andhra Pradesh on June 2 will be revoked partially to facilitate the swearing-in of TRS chief K Chandrasekhar Rao as Chief Minister of Telangana but it will continue in Seemandhra till TDP chief N Chandrababu Naidu takes charge a week later.

Hectic activities have been going on in the Union Home Ministry and in Andhra Pradesh government for division of the state smoothly on June 2, the appointed day, official sources said.

A notification is expected to be issued in the morning of June 2 revoking the President's rule in Telangana to facilitate Rao taking charge as the first Chief Minister of the country's 29th state.

The notification will clarify that the President's rule will continue in residuary Andhra Pradesh till Naidu takes oath as Chief Minister either on June 8 or 9, official sources said.
President's Rule was imposed in Andhra Pradesh on March 1 this year after N Kiran Kumar Reddy resigned as Chief Minister following Parliament's nod for bifurcation of the state to create separate Telangana.

Rao's party Telangana Rashtra Samiti won 63 out of the the 119 assembly seats in Telangana in the recent elections while Nadu's Telugu Desam Party, along with ally BJP, bagged 106 of the 175 assembly seats in Seemandhra.

Sources said that before Rao is sworn-in as chief Minister, Andhra Pradesh Governor E S L Narasimhan, who was given the additional charge of the proposed state of Telangana, will himself have to take oath.

Jump to comments

Recommended Content