Home »  News »  India

Lok Sabha elections: Repoll ordered in 29 polling stations in Andhra Pradesh

Saturday, 10 May 2014 - 11:19pm IST Updated: Saturday, 10 May 2014 - 11:41pm IST | Place: Hyderabad | Agency: IANS

The Election Commission has ordered re-poll in 29 polling stations in Andhra Pradesh on May 13, said state's chief electoral officer (CEO) Bhanwarlal.

The poll panel ordered re-polling in 11 polling stations in Telangana and the remaining in Seemandhra following complaints of malpractices during the polling held on April 30 and May 7.

The polling stations are located in 13 Lok Sabha and 21 assembly constituencies.

The CEO had recommended re-poll only in one polling station in Paderu assembly constituency, where Maoists damaged two electronic voting machines (EVMs) during the polling May 7.

However, the Election Commission ordered re-poll in several booths following reports received from the district collectors in view of the complaints by political parties and contesting candidates.

Polling for 119 assembly and 17 Lok Sabha seats in Telangana was held on April 30. The second phase of elections covered 175 assembly and 25 Lok Sabha seats in Seemandhra.

Jump to comments

Recommended Content