Home » India

Likely ministers in Arvind Kejriwal government

Monday, 23 December 2013 - 6:17pm IST | Agency: IANS

The following is a list of Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) legislators who could be part of Arvind Kejriwal's cabinet:

Manish Sisodia: A 41-year-old former journalist who came to light in the Jan Lokpal movement, Sisodia routed Nakul Bhardwaj of BJP by 11,478 votes from Patparganj. He holds a diploma in journalism. He was born into a Rajput family in Hapur district in Uttar Pradesh.

Saurabh Bhardwaj: An engineer by profession who has also studied law, the 34-year-old defeated Ajay Kumar Malhotra, son of veteran BJP leader V.K. Malhotra, by 13,092 votes in Greater Kailash.

Vinod Kumar Binny: At 40, Binny, elected from Laxmi Nagar in east Delhi, is a gradaute from Delhi University. He defeated Delhi health minister A.K. Walia by some 8,000 votes. He was a member of the Congress from 2009 to 2011 but left it after joining the Jan Lokpal movement.

Somnath Bharti: He pursued a degree in law after doing his Masters in science from the IIT-Delhi. The 39-year-old was also president of the IIT-Delhi alumni association. He defeated two heavyweights -- BJP's Arti Mehra and Kiran Walia of Congress -- in Malviya Nagar.

Rakhi Birla: Another former journalist, she is the youngest in the likely ministers list. The 26-year-old holds a Masters degree in journalism. She defeated Raj Kumar Chauhan, a minister in the Sheila Dikshit government, from Mangolpuri by 10,585 votes.

Bandana Kumari: Another 39-year-old, she is a graduate who fights for the cause of poor women. She defeated BJP's Ravinder Nath Bansal by over 10,000 votes from Shalimar Bagh.

Jarnail Singh: Educated upto Class 12, the 32-year-old owns a water purifier company. He defeated Rajiv Babber of BJP from Tilak Nagar in west Delhi by 2,088 votes.

(Information taken from AAP and Election Commission web sites)

Jump to comments

Around the web