Home »  News »  India

Andhra Pradesh bifurcation: Government makes provisional allocation of buildings in Hyderabad

Friday, 30 May 2014 - 6:00pm IST | Place: Hyderabad | Agency: PTI

With just two days remaining for the separate Telangana and (new) Andhra Pradesh states to come into existence, the AP government on Friday made provisional allocation of several buildings which would house the Legislative Assembly, Legislative Council, and Secretariat to the two successor states.

According to a Government Order (GO) issued by the Chief Secretary PK Mohanty, the new Assembly building would go to Telangana, while old Assembly building to (new) Andhra Pradesh. The existing Legislative Council building has been given for Andhra Pradesh and the abutting Jubilee Hall to Telangana.

The existing Chief Minister's Camp Office-cum-Residence building at Begumpet, built during late YS Rajasekhara Reddy regime, would go to Telangana.  The sprawling Lake View guest house on Raj Bhavan Road, built during Nizam era, has been made Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister's Camp Office-cum-Residence.

June 2 is the appointed day when Telangana and residuary Andhra Pradesh will come into existence as separate states. On and from the appointed day, Hyderabad (the Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation area) would be the common capital for both Telangana and Andhra Pradesh for a period of 10 years.

The existing buildings in the Andhra Pradesh Secretariat have also been provisionally allotted to conduct the administration of the two successor states.

Accordingly, the A, B, C, D blocks in the Secretariat have been given to Telangana and the L, J, North-H, South-H and K blocks to the Andhra Pradesh. The office of the undivided Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister has been located in the 'C' Block. 

Jump to comments

Recommended Content