Home »  News »  India

Khushwant Singh: A personal life, his works, books and honors

Thursday, 20 March 2014 - 1:19pm IST | Place: Mumbai | Agency: dna webdesk

Noted writer and journalist Khushwant Singh passes away on Thursday at the age of 99.

Singh was best known as one of India's finest writers and columnists. 

He was married to Kawal Malik and has a son, named Rahul Singh, and a daughter, named Mala. 

Khushwant Singh was a reputed author with a wide collection of short stories, novels and literary treasures. Here's a look at some of his works.

Khushwant Singh's Books

The Mark of Vishnu and Other Stories, 1950
The History of Sikhs, 1953
Train to Pakistan, 1956
The Voice of God and Other Stories, 1957
I Shall Not Hear the Nightingale, 1959
The Sikhs Today, 1959
The Fall of the Kingdom of the Punjab, 1962
A History of the Sikhs, 1963
Ranjit Singh: The Maharajah of the Punjab, 1963
Ghadar 1915: India's first armed revolution, 1966
A History of the Sikhs, 1966 (2nd edition)
A Bride for the Sahib and Other Stories, 1967
Black Jasmine, 1971
Tragedy of Punjab, 1984
Delhi: A Novel, 1990
Sex, Scotch and Scholarship: Selected Writings, 1992
Not a Nice Man to Know: The Best of Khushwant Singh, 1993
We Indians, 1993
Women and Men in My Life, 1995
Uncertain Liaisons; Sex, Strife and Togetherness in Urban India, 1995
Declaring Love in Four Languages, by Khushwant Singh and Sharda Kaushik, 1997
The Company of Women, 1999
Truth, Love and a Little Malice (an autobiography), 2002
With Malice towards One and All
The End of India, 2003
Burial at the Sea, 2004
Paradise and Other Stories, 2004
A History of the Sikhs: 1469-1838, 2004
Death at My Doorstep, 2005
A History of the Sikhs: 1839-2004, 2005
The Illustrated History of the Sikhs, 2006
Why I Supported the Emergency: Essays and Profiles, 2009
The Sunset Club, 2010
Agnostic Khushwant Singh, There is no GOD, 2012
The Good, the Bad and the Ridiculous, 2013 (Co-authored with Humra Qureshi)

Khushwant Singh's short story collections
The Mark of Vishnu and Other Stories. London, Saturn Press, 1950.
The Voice of God and Other Stories. Bombay, Jaico, 1957.
A Bride for the Sahib and Other Stories. New Delhi, Hind, 1967.
Black Jasmine. Bombay, Jaico, 1971
The Collected Stories. N.p., Ravi Dayal, 1989.
The Portrait of a Lady
The Strain
Success Mantra
A Love Affair In London

For his contributions to literature, Singh received a variety of awards.

Honors and awards
Rockfeller Grant,1966
Padma Bhushan, Government of India (1974)(He returned the decoration in 1984 in protest against the Union government's siege of the Golden Temple, Amritsar)
Honest Man of the Year, Sulabh International (2000)
Punjab Rattan Award, The Government of Punjab (2006)
Padma Vibhushan, Government of India (2007)
Sahitya academy fellowship award by Sahitya academy of India (2010)
‘All-India Minorities Forum Annual Fellowship Award’ by Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav (2012)

Jump to comments

Recommended Content