Home » India

Jaipur: Royal s lend weight to political parties' kitty

Monday, 9 December 2013 - 2:33pm IST | Place: Jaipur | Agency: DNA
Of the seven erstwhile royals fielded by the Saffron Brigade six registered thumping victories; Congress also benefits as Vishwendra Singh defeats BJP stalwart Digambar Singh.

Royal s fielded by BJP in Assembly elections haven’t disappointed the party. Six out of seven royal s fielded by party won by huge margins.

The Congress, too, had placed its bet on two members of former royal families. It had fielded Vishwendra Singh on Deeg-Kumher seat and PWD minister Bharat Singh Kundanpur from Sangod.

Vishwendra emerged triumphant in the elections, but Bharat Singh lost the Sangod seat.
The BJP had repeated five royal s, and the remaining two were fielded by the party for the first time.
The royals who were repeated included Siddhi Kumari, Krishnendra Kaur Deepa (also known as princess of Deeg) and scion of Shahpura royal family Rao Rajendra Singh.

Vasundhara Raje is also a part of this royal list. She secured her Jhalrapatan seat with a margin of over 60,000 votes.

However, Rohini Kumari, sitting MLA of Karauli, could not retain her seat this time.

The latest in the queue of royal members taking the plunge in politics is 42-year-old Diya Kumari of Jaipur.

She was given the party ticket from Sawai Madhopur constituency and was termed as an ‘outsider’ by her opponents during election campaigning. The caste equations, too, were also not in her favour. However proving all speculations wrong, Diya Kumari defeated NPP chief Kirori Lal Meena!
The seventh royal  fielded by the BJP was Jagat Singh, son of Kunwar Natwar Singh.

He was given ticket by BJP for the first time. He registered a huge victory over Parliamentary secretary and Congress  Jahida Khan on Kaman seat. 

Only two royal s were fielded by Congress this time. Vishwendra Singh won from Deeg constituency. His victory is phenomenal as he has defeated BJP stalwart Digamber Singh, who is also a Raje loyalist.

Second royal  Bharat Singh lost the election despite his development works and clean image. He was defeated by Heeralal Nagar of BJP by a margin of over 19,000 votes.

Jump to comments

Around the web