Home »  News »  India

Exit polls for South: BJP-TDP to sweep Seemandhra, Congress win in Kerala, AIADMK in Tamil Nadu; Karnataka throws up uncertain figures

Monday, 12 May 2014 - 7:55pm IST | Place: Mumbai | Agency: dna webdesk

The BJP will win 18 out of the 28 seats in Karnataka, while the Congress will get just 10, says the Times Now exit poll.

According to C Voter, BJP will get 18 seats in Karnataka and the Congress gets 7 seats, a similar performance from 2009 when BJP won 19 seats and Congress just 6.

CNN-IBN has predicted 12-16 seats for Congress in Karnataka, and 10-14 seats for BJP. The JD(S) will get 1-3 seats. This shows a double consolidation for Congress and BJP in Karnataka according to CNN-IBN.

In Seemandhra, the BJP-TDP alliance is set to win 17 out of the 25 seats, according to the Times Now. In Telangana, BJP-TDP is projected to win just 2 seats. The Congress will win 5 seats, and the YSRCP 9 seats.

CNN-IBN has predicted 11-15 seats for the BJP-TDP alliance in Andhra Pradesh and the YSR Congress will get 11-15 also, mostly in Telangana. In Seemandhra, Congress will not win a single seat.

C Voter has done a combined exit poll for Seemandhra and Telangana. C Voter says the Congress wins 7 seats in Andhra Pradesh, the TDP wins 9 seats, the BJP wins 3 seats, the TRS 8 seats and the YSRCP 14 seats.

In Tamil Nadu, Jayalalithaa's AIADMK will win 31 of 39 seats according to the Times Now survey. C Voter pegs this figure at 27. CNN-IBN predicts 22 to 28 seats for AIADMK. The DMK is projected to win 7 seats according to Times Now, and 6 seats according to C Voter. CNN-IBN pegs this figure at 7-11 seats, and also says BJP alliance will get 4-6 seats. C Voter predicts 2 seats for BJP while Times Now says 0.

Kerala has always been a stronghold of the Congress-led UDF, but this time the alliance wins 16 seats according to the Times Now survey. According to C Voter, the alliance wins 11 seats and the Left Front (LDF) 9 seats. According to CNN-IBN, Congress-led UDF will get 11-14 seats in Kerala and the LDF will win 6-9 seats. The BJP will increase its vote share but not get any seats.

Thus, Jayalalithaa is set to become a major player in national politics post the election, and might be a crucial ally if she decides to join the NDA. The municipal elections in Seemandhra led to a BJP-TDP sweep, and this will continue in the general elections.

Jump to comments

Recommended Content