Home »  News »  India »  Delhi

NDMC standing panel proposes creation of new civic zone

Thursday, 12 June 2014 - 4:40pm IST | Place: New Delhi | Agency: PTI

The Standing Committee of the North Delhi Municipal Corporation has proposed to carve out a new civic zone to allow even distribution of wards in areas under its jurisdiction, a senior official said today. "A new zone has been proposed in Keshav Puram in the Rohini area. The proposal was passed by the Standing Committee at its meeting yesterday.

NDMC currently has six zones—Narela, Rohini, Civil Lines, Karol Bagh, Sadar Paharganj and City -- under its jurisdiction. "After re-organisation, Keshav Puram will emerge as a new zone while Sadar Paharganj and City would be amalgamated into one City zone. The number of zones will therefore effectively remain the same, but the wards will be evenly distributed," NDMC Public Relations Officer, Yogendra Singh Mann, told PTI. "(The proposal) will now be sent to the NDMC House and eventually to the Delhi government for final approval," Mann added.

The 104 wards under NDMC are currently distributed as follows among the six zones: Narela (10 wards), Rohini (34), Civil Lines (30), Karol Bagh (15), Sadar Paharganj (8) and City (7). 

After the proposed re-organisation, the Sadar Paharganj and City zones will together constitute 14 wards while the distribution for the rest of the zones would stand as: Narela (14), Rohini (18), Keshav Puram (20), Civil Lines (22) and Karol Bagh (16), he said. "The idea for creating a new zone to allow fair distribution of wards was taken up by a sub-committee before it was sent to the Standing Committee for approval," Mann said.

On the decision to select Keshav Puram as the new zone, he said, "We already have an office there and so it will be convenient to operationalise it once it is officially established."

Jump to comments

Recommended Content