Home »  News »  India

AAP declares third list of Lok Sabha candidates

Saturday, 1 March 2014 - 4:45pm IST | Agency: PTI

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) today declared their third list of candidates for 20 Lok Sabha seats with prominent names being Savita Bhatti, wife of late comedian Jaspal Bhatti's, who has been given a ticket from Chandigarh, and Anand Kumar, a professor from JNU, from Delhi.

The party declared candidates for lone seat of Union Territory of Chandigarh, two from Delhi and Kerela, seven from Madhya Pradesh, seven from Odisha and one from Bihar. The third list has a doctor, actor, teacher, former diplomat, educationists and social activists.

In Delhi, the party has given ticket to Kumar, a JNU professor from North-east Delhi, a seat currently represented by former Delhi Pradesh Congress Committee president Jai Prakash Agarwal.

From North West Delhi, the party has given candidature to social activist Mahender Singh. The seat is currently represented by Union Minister Krishna Tirath. The party is yet to declare candidates for two seats- South Delhi and New Delhi.

From Kerela, the party has fielded former IPS officer Ajit Joy from Thiruvannanthapuram, a seat currently held by Union Minister and former UN Under-Secretary General Shashi Tharoor. Incidentally, Joy quit IPS to join the United Nations's Office on Drugs and Crime. He later quit UN to join AAP.

From Thrissur, a seat held by Joint Parliamentary Committee Chairman P C Chako, the party has given ticket to Sarah Joseph, a noted Malayali novelist.

In Madhya Pradesh, the party has nominated Rachna Dheengra from Bhopal. Dheengra has been associated with the party since its inception and has been working for the 1984 Bhopal gas tragedy victims. From Indore, former diplomat and IIM alumni Anil Trivedi will enter the electoral fray.

From Guna, a seat currently represented by Union Minister Jyotiraditya Scindia, the party has fielded social activist Shailendra Singh Kushwaha; Atul Mishra, AAP's district convener, will contest from Sagar and Rajesh Sareram, a teacher by profession, from Betul.

Tata Institite of Social Science alumni Pankaj Singh will enter the electoral fray from Sidhi. From Hoshangabad, the party has nominated AAP worker Maya Vishwakarma From Darbhanga, a seat currently held by former cricketer and BJP MP Kirti Azad, the party has nominated Prabhat Ranjan Das, a medic by profession who worked in the US before returning to India.

Jump to comments

Recommended Content