Bypoll results 2022: Check seat-wise winners, vote margins, party performance

BJP bagged 3 of the 4 Assembly seats in Tripura and both the Lok Sabha seats in UP, while Congress won an Assembly seat each in Jharkhand and Tripura.

Latest News
Bypoll results 2022: Check seat-wise winners, vote margins, party performance


Counting for 2022 bypolls on 3 Lok Sabha constituencies and 7 state Assembly seats was conducted on Sunday. The highlights of the election results was the upset in Uttar Pradesh orchestrated by the Bharatiya Janata Party in Samajwadi Party stronghold MP seats and Aam Aadmi Party losing its Sangrur MP seat in Punjab. 

The BJP also prevailed in the eastern state of Tripura, winning 3 out of the 4 MLA constituencies up for bypolls. Victories in assembly seats in Jharkhand and Tripura were saving grace for the Congress. Aam Aadmi Party retained the Rajinder Nagar MLA seat in Delhi which was won by party’s youth leader Durgesh Pathak. Lone assembly seat from Andhra Pradesh in the bypolls, Atmakur was won by YSR Congress.

Here’s the complete list of winners, vote margins

READ | Tripura bypoll results followed by clash between Congress, BJP supporters; 19 injured

Lok Sabha bypolls:

Constituency: Sangrur, Punjab
Vacated by: Bhagwant Mann, AAP
Won by: Simranjit Singh Mann, SAD (Amritsar)
Vote-margin: 5,822 votes

Constituency: Azamgarh, Uttar Pradesh
Vacated by: Akhilesh Yadav, SP
Won by: Dinesh Lal Yadav ‘Nirahua’, BJP
Vote-margin: 8,679 votes

Constituency: Rampur, Uttar Pradesh
Vacated by: Azam Khan, SP
Won by: Ghanshyam Lodhi, BJP
Vote-margin: 42,192 votes

READ | A message from people to dynastic, casteist parties: UP CM Yogi Adityanath on BJP's bypoll success

Assembly bypolls

Constituency: Rajinder Nagar, Delhi
Vacated by: Raghav Chadha, AAP
Won by: Durgesh Pathak, AAP
Vote-margin: 11,468 votes

Constituency: Atmakur, Andhra Pradesh
Vacated by: Mekapati Goutham Reddy, YSR Congress
Won by: Mekapati Vikram Reddy, YSR Congress
Vote-margin: 82,888 votes

Constituency: Mandar, Jharkhand
Vacated by: Bandhu Tirkey, JVM (P)
Won by: Shilpi Neha Tirkey, Congress
Vote-margin: 23,690 votes

Constituency: Agartala, Tripura
Vacated by: Sudip Roy Barman, then BJP
Won by: Sudip Roy Barman, Congress 
Vote-margin: 3,163 votes

Constituency: Jubarajnagar, Tripura
Vacated by: Ramendra Chandra Debnath, CPIM
Won by: Malina Debnath, BJP
Vote-margin: 4,572 votes

Constituency: Surma, Tripura
Vacated by: Ashish Das, former BJP now TMC
Won by: Swapna Das (Paul), BJP
Vote-margin: 4,583 votes

Constituency: Town Bardowali, Tripura
Vacated by: Ashish Saha, former BJP now Congress
Won by: Manik Saha, BJP
Vote-margin: 6,104 votes

READ | 'Defeat of BJP's dirty politics,' says Kejriwal after AAP's Rajinder Nagar bypoll victory


Find your daily dose of news & explainers in your WhatsApp. Stay updated, Stay informed-  Follow DNA on WhatsApp.

Live tv