Top ITBP officer Sanjay Arora named new Delhi Police Commissioner

Currently the head of the Indo-Tibetan Border Police (ITBP), Director General Sanjay Arora is set to take over as Delhi Police Commissioner on Monday.

Latest News
Top ITBP officer Sanjay Arora named new Delhi Police Commissioner

Sanjay Arora, a top ITBP officer, has been named Delhi's next police commissioner. To replace outgoing Delhi Police Commissioner Anil Kumar Goel, Arora will begin his new job on Monday as the Director General of the Indo-Tibetan Border Police (ITBP) (August 1, 2022).

Also, READ: Punjab: AAP municipal councillor Mohammad Akbar shot dead in Malerkotla

Sanjay Arora is an officer of the Tamil Nadu cadre of the 1988 batch of the Indian Police Service. He graduated from Jaipur's Malviya National Institute of Technology with a bachelor's degree in electrical and electronic engineering.

He worked with the Tamil Nadu Police for many years after joining the IPS. After leading Special Task Force officers to victory against the Veerappan gang, he received the Chief Minister's Gallantry Medal for Bravery and Heroic Action.

During the height of the LTTE's activities in the early 1990s, Sanjay Arora, who had been trained by NSG, played a major role in founding the Special Security Group (SSG).  In addition, he has worked as a police superintendent in a number of districts in Tamil Nadu.

From 1997 until 2002, Arora served as Commandant of the ITBP. From 1997 to 2000, he was the commander of an ITBP border patrol battalion at Matli, Uttarakhand. From 2000 to 2002, Arora served as Commandant (Combat Wing) at the ITBP Acade.

In 2004, the President's Police Medal for Distinguished Service was awarded to him, and in 2014, the Police Special Duty Medal, Antrik Suraksha Padak, and the UN Peacekeeping Medal were also presented to him.

Find your daily dose of news & explainers in your WhatsApp. Stay updated, Stay informed-  Follow DNA on WhatsApp.

Live tv