Twitter
Advertisement

WhatsApp multi-device feature to roll out soon? What we know so far

WhatsApp's new feature will permit individuals to operate a similar WhatsApp account on various gadgets simultaneously.

Latest News
WhatsApp multi-device feature to roll out soon? What we know so far
FacebookTwitterWhatsappLinkedin

The instant messaging app, Whatsapp is reportedly going to roll out multi-device support to the Beta version very soon. The feature has been spotted on the app but it's still not functional, even for beta testers of the application.

WhatsApp head Will Cathcart and Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg have officially announced that the feature is expected to roll out within the next two months. This new feature by the instant messaging app will permit individuals to operate a similar WhatsApp account on various gadgets simultaneously.

Multi-device feature limitations

While not much is known about how the multi-device functionality will work across several devices, WABetaInfo, which pushes regular updates around the instant messaging app, recently shared a screenshot revealing additional details about the upcoming feature.

The screengrab mentions that multi-device support on WhatsApp will initially work on four devices and a smartphone at once. This implies that the feature might not support multiple smartphones initially. The other device formats will include WhatsApp Web, WhatsApp Desktop and Facebook Portal smart display.

Additionally, WhatsApp also posted some pointers regarding the new feature. It said that users who are testing the multi-device feature will not be able to message or call from web, desktop or Portal to users who are running an older or outdated WhatsApp version on their phone.

WhatsApp other features

The others features that have been confirmed are 'disappearing mode' and 'view once'. Disappearing mode and view once features are similar to disappearing messages that WhatsApp launched last year.

With disappearing mode, users will be able to convert all chats to disappearing mode where messages will automatically delete after a stipulated time period.

View once is also part of the disappearing messages feature but it has a short time limit. This feature will let you "send content and have it disappear after the person sees it." So if you have this feature turned on, you can send photos and videos and the recipient will be able to view it only once after it's sent. Once it's opened the photos and videos will disappear from the chat.

Find your daily dose of news & explainers in your WhatsApp. Stay updated, Stay informed-  Follow DNA on WhatsApp.
Advertisement

Live tv

Advertisement
Advertisement