Twitter

Ashish Nehra may miss World Cup final against Sri Lanka

Team manager Rajib Biswal said the left-arm s eamer has fractured the middle-finger of his right hand during yesterday's semifinal match against Pakistan in Mohali.

article-main

DNA Web Team

Updated: Sep 29, 2017, 03:19 AM IST

Edited by

FacebookTwitterWhatsappLinkedin

TRENDING NOW

India seamer Ashish Nehra may miss Saturday's World Cup final against Sri Lanka owing to a finger injury.

Even though the BCCI is yet to make an official statement in this regard, team manager Rajib Biswal said the left-arm seamer has fractured the middle-finger of his right hand during yesterday's semifinal match against Pakistan in Mohali.

He said that efforts are being made to get the bowler match-fit through rehabilitation programme but added that if he does not recover in time, he will be ruled out.

Nehra, who was benched for the last league match and the quarter-final against Australia, was brought in for the Mohali encounter by skipper MS Dhoni in a gamble that is seen to have paid off.

He took the wickets of Wahab Riaz and Umar Gul while conceding 33 runs in his quota of 10 overs in the semifinal against Pakistan.

Biswal said that Nehra injured his finger while going for a catch at deep mid-wicket, which was referred to the third umpire.

Find your daily dose of news & explainers in your WhatsApp. Stay updated, Stay informed-  Follow DNA on WhatsApp.

Live tv