Maharashtra Assembly polls: Aaditya Thackeray may have a walkover as rivals skip, field weak picks

Aaditya will file his nomination on Thursday.


Sudhir Suryawanshi

Updated: Oct 03, 2019, 06:15 AM IST

Edited by


The opposition seems to have gone soft against Thackeray scion Aaditya Thackeray and have decided to give him a walkover.

Traditionally the Worli seat has swung between the Shiv Sena and the NCP.

Sena's main rival NCP has decided to file a weak candidate in order to ensure a walkover for the Thackeray scion.

MNS has released its second list comprising of 54 candidates. However, the list has no candidate for Worli.

In 2009, NCP has garnered 34,000 votes while their vote shrunk to 8,000 in 2014 state polls. Sanjay Raut, Shiv Sena's Rajya Sabha MP had earlier met NCP supremo Sharad Pawar at his Silver Oak residence. Sources said that Uddhav Thackeray wanted a smooth electoral ride for his son Aaditya Thackeray. Therefore, he had asked Raut to meet Pawar to ensure that.

"Pawar had promised Raut that they will not field a strong candidate in the constituency," said an informed source, adding the quid pro quo dates back to when Supriya Sule contested Rajya Sabha polls. Shiv Sena did not field its candidate and Sule was elected unopposed. Now, it is time for NCP to return the favour.

NCP had planned to field Dr Suresh Mane against Aaditya Thackeray who has a large fan following in the Ambedkarite community in Worli constituency. However, now NCP may replace him with Aditi Nalawade, president of the women's youth wing of NCP and member of its social media team.

Nawab Malik, NCP spokesperson said that they have not yet finalised the candidate for Worli. Sources in NCP said that Aditi Nalawade has been almost finalised as the candidate. "Nalawade is an active party worker but she does not have a strong base to fight against the Thackerays. She will be decimated in this fight. This is nothing but match fixing between the Opposition and the Shiv Sena," said sources.

Interestingly, Vanchit Bahujan Aghadi has announced retired police officer Gautam Gaikwad as their candidates for the constituency. "However, it will not make any difference. Aaditya is going to win with a record margin," said a Sena leader.

Aaditya will file his nomination on Thursday.

Promises Made

  • Sharad Pawar had promised Sanjay Raut that NCP will not field a strong candidate in the constituency, the reason the prospective candidate Suresh Mane was replaced with Aditi Nalawade


Find your daily dose of news & explainers in your WhatsApp. Stay updated, Stay informed-  Follow DNA on WhatsApp.

Live tv