Victory of rule of law and constitution: Congress after Yeddyurappa resigns as Karnataka CM

On Saturday, a jubilant Congress celebrated after Yeddyurappa resigned on the floor of the house unable to prove a majority to form the Karnataka government.


DNA Web Team

Updated: May 19, 2018, 04:27 PM IST

Edited by



On Saturday, a jubilant Congress celebrated after Yeddyurappa resigned on the floor of the house unable to prove a majority to form the Karnataka government.

 The 3-day old B S Yeddyurappa government in Karnataka collapsed today, with the chief minister announcing his decision to resign without facing a trust vote. Yeddyurappa said he would now "go to the people".

His resignation will pave the way for formation of a government led by JD(S) state chief H D Kumaraswamy, who has the backing of the Congress. The newly formed alliance has claimed support of 117 MLAs in the 224-member House with an effective strength of 221.

Polling for two seats was not held due to various reasons, while Kumaraswamy won from two places.

The Congress and JD(S) legislature party leaders will now sit together and decide the future course of action. The Congress leader BK Hariprasad said that when Yeddyurappa took oath, they knew he wouldn’t be able to prove the majority in the assembly.

Meanwhile, Ghulam Nabi Azad went on to congratulate JDS, Congress, BSP and independent legislators who resisted pressure tactics of central agencies and stood by parties.

He said: “BJP tried to lure by offering money and positions but rejected. It is a victory of democracy, rule of law and constitution. Eagerly waiting Governor to call Kumaraswamy to form the government.”


The Supreme Court had yesterday ordered a floor test in the Karnataka Assembly at 4 PM today, drastically slashing the 15-day window given by Governor Vajubhai Vala to BJP Chief Minister Yeddyurappa to prove his majority.

"I am going to resign as chief minister....I will go to Raj Bhavan and submit my resignation.

"I will not face confidence vote....I am going to resign," he told the Assembly after a brief emotional speech.

Following is the chronology of the Karnataka political crisis in which the Supreme Court today ordered live telecast of the floor test to be conducted at 4 pm:

* May 12: Elections held in Karnataka.

* May 15: Election Commission announces results. BJP emerges as single largest party with 104 members; Congress with 78 and JD(S) with 37 MLAs stitch an alliance.

* Both the BJP and the Congress-JD(S) combine stake claim to form government.

* May 16: Karnataka Governor Vajubhai Vala invites BJP to form government and asks B S Yeddyurappa to take oath as chief minister the next day.

* Congress moves Supreme Court late evening against the governor's invitation to the BJP.

* May 16-17: SC opens its doors at midnight for an urgent hearing.

* May 17: Hearing begins at 2.11 am and concludes at 5.28 am. SC refuses to stay oath-taking ceremony of Yeddyurappa.

* Yeddyurappa sworn in as CM at 9 am.

* May 18: SC orders floor test at 4 pm on May 19.

* Congress-JD (S) combine late at night move the SC challenging the governor's decision to appoint BJP MLA K G Bopaiah as pro tem speaker to conduct the floor test. SC says it will hear plea on May 19.

* May 19: SC orders live telecast of floor test to ensure transparency in trust vote.

* At 4 pm: Yeddyurappa says "I will not face confidence vote; I am going to resign".

Find your daily dose of news & explainers in your WhatsApp. Stay updated, Stay informed-  Follow DNA on WhatsApp.

Live tv