Mumbai North Lok Sabha Election Result 2019: BJP's G Shetty thrashes Cong's Urmila Matondkar by a margin of 465247 votes

BJP's Gopal Shetty thrashes Congress' Urmila Matondkar by a margin of 465247 votes.

Latest News

Mumbai North Lok Sabha Election Result 2019 Live Updates

BJP's Gopal Shetty thrashes Congress' Urmila Matondkar by a margin of 465247 votes

04:34 pm: BJP's Gopal Shetty currently leading with a whooping 640507 votes

13:16 pm: Urmila Matondkar so far has got 103921 votes while Gopal Shetty is leading with 272838 votes

11:55 AM: Gopal Shetty has increased his lead against Urmila. He has more than 75% votes counted so far. 

10 AM: BJP’s Gopal Shetty has taken a big lead against Congress’ Urmila by more than 40,000 votes.

8:15 AM: The counting of votes has begun in the Mumbai North Lok Sabha Election Result seat. 

Constituency Profile


The Mumbai North Lok Sabha constituency covers six assembly segments – Borivali, Dahisar, Magathane, Kandivali East, Charkop and Malad West.

The problems are typical of Mumbai North including housing, traffic woes and congestion. Issues include environment and lack of drinking water, particularly in slums.



Candidate Name

Party Name


Urmila Matondkar

Indian National Congress


Gopal Shetty

Bharatiya Janata Party


Manojkumar Jayprakash Singh

Bahujan Samaj Party


Andrew John Fernandes

Hum Bhartiya Party


Ankushrao Shivajirao Patil

Rashtriya Maratha Party


Chandaliya Samaysingh Anand

Bahujan Mukti Party


Chhannu Sahadewrao Sontakkey

Bharat Prabhat Party


Thorat Sunil Uttamrao

Vanchit Bahujan Aaghadi


Dr. Pawan Kumar Pandey

Sarvodaya Bharat Party


Fateh Mohd. Mansuri Shaikh

Bhartiya Lokmat Rashtrwadi Party


Ranjit Bajrangi Tiwari

Naitik Party


Comrade Vilas Hiwale

Marxist Leninist Party of India (Red Flag)


Akhtar Munshi Paper Wala



Ansari Mohd. Azad



Amol Ashokrao Jadhav



B. K. Gadhavi



Milind Shankar Repe



Dr. Raies Khan




Gopal Shetty of BJP is facing off against yesteryear actress Urmila Matondkar in a high-profile showdown.

In 2014, Gopal Shetty had beaten Cong heavyweight and former Mumbai chief Sanjay Nirupam by 4 lakh votes. In 2009, Nirupam had won by beating BJP’s Ram Naik in a neck-and-neck fight. Naik had got 255,157 votes to Nirupam’s 255157.

The main fight is between KC Padavi of Congress and Dr Heena Vijaykumar Gavit in the 2019 Lok Sabha Election.

In 2014, Dr Heena Gavit of BJP beat INC’s Manikrao Gavit by over 1 lakh votes. In 2009, Manikrao Hodlya of INC beat BJP’s Sharad Gavit.

The Maharashtra Mahabharata

The fate of 323 candidates, including Union minister Subhash Bhamre, Congress nominees Milind Deora and Urmila Matondkar, will be decided in the fourth and final phase of polling in Maharashtra covering 17 Lok Sabha constituencies on April 29.

More than 3.11 crore voters spread across the 17 Lok Sabha seats located in North Maharashtra, Mumbai, Thane, Palghar and parts of Western Maharashtra, are eligible to exercise their franchise.

As many as 33,314 polling stations are being set up in these constituencies, where 323 candidates are in the poll field.

Of the total 3,11,92,823 voters, 1,66,31,707 are male, 1,45,59,698 female and 1,418 from the third gender.

The constituencies voting on April 29 are: Nandurbar, Dhule, Dindori, Nashik (North Maharashtra), Palghar, Bhiwandi, Kalyan, Thane (located on Mumbai's outskirts), Mumbai North, Mumbai North-West, Mumbai North-Central, Mumbai North-East, Mumbai South and Mumbai South-Central, Maval, Shirur (Pune district) and Shirdi (Ahmednagar district).

In 2014, the BJP had won 8 of these 17 seats, while its ally Shiv Sena bagged the remaining 9.

The Palghar seat was won by the BJP in 2014. However, this time the Shiv Sena is contesting on the seat as part of a pre-poll alliance between the two saffron allies.

Opposition Congress, which had won just two seats in 2014 in Maharashtra, is facing a tough task of reclaiming its lost support base in North Maharashtra and Mumbai.

The NCP is fighting to regain its position in Thane district and Western Maharashtra.

Prominent candidates in the fray include Bhamre (Dhule-BJP), actress-turned-politician Urmila Matondkar (Mumbai North), Priya Dutt (Mumbai North-Central Congress) and Deora (Mumbai South).

From the NCP, its president Sharad Pawar's grandnephew Parth Pawar is making his electoral debut from Maval, while popular Marathi actor Amol Kolhe is the NCP candidate from Shirur.

Maharashtra has 48 Lok Sabha seats, the second highest after Uttar Pradesh (80). Voting for 31 of these seats was held in the first three phases - April 11, 18 and 23.

Counting of votes will take place on May 23.

This is for the first time that Maharashtra is having a four-phase polling in Lok Sabha elections.


Find your daily dose of news & explainers in your WhatsApp. Stay updated, Stay informed-  Follow DNA on WhatsApp.

Live tv