Maharashtra Unlock 2.0: 5-level unlock plan begins, check what's allowed in your district

After nearly two months of strict lockdown-type restrictions, a five-phased plan to unlock Maharashtra (Unlock 2.0) has come into force from Monday.

Latest News
Maharashtra Unlock 2.0: 5-level unlock plan begins, check what's allowed in your district


After nearly two months of strict lockdown-type restrictions,  a five-phased plan to unlock Maharashtra (Unlock 2.0) has come into force from Monday, June 7. The state has been divided into 48 units as per districts and municipal corporations, and five levels, depending on the positivity rate and occupancy of oxygenated beds.

Five levels of restriction-

Level 1 has the least restrictions while Level 5 will have the most.

Districts with a case positivity rate of 5 percent or less and occupancy of hospital beds with oxygen is less than 25 percent will come under Level 1.

These districts shall be completely unlocked with all activities continuing normally including transport, shops, restaurants, malls, theatres, cultural events, sports, industries, government and private offices, construction activities, weddings and funerals, as in the past.

Level 2 would include 5 percent positivity rate and 25-40 hospital oxygen beds occupancy where CrPC Sec 144 will continue to be enforced. Navi Mumbai, Thane, Ahmednagar, Amravati, Hingoli come under 'Level 2'.

Those with positivity rate of 5-10 per cent and oxygen bed occupancy less than 40-60 per cent shall be in Level 3 with the guidelines to "minimize movement post-5 pm on weekdays and weekends".

Mumbai, Kalyan Dombivali municipal limits, Akola, Beed, Palghar, Ratnagiri, Kolhapur, Osmanabad, Sangli, Satara, Sindhudurg and Solapur are in 'Level 3'.

The areas with a positivity rate of 10-20 per cent and 60-75 oxygen bed occupancy come under Level 4, and those with positivity rate of 20 per cent and above with 75 per cent or higher oxygen bed occupancy fall under Level 5 for lockdown purposes.

District Collectors and Municipal Commissioners of various civic bodies shall issue separate notifications on which areas are classified under which categories in their jurisdictions.

List of activities allowed in five-levels

Shops dealing with essential items

In Level 1 and 2, they will function as usual. In Level 3 and 4, they will have to stay shut after 4 pm on all days.

Shops dealing with non-essential items

They will function normally in Level 1 and 2, and remain closed after 4 pm in Level 3. They will not be allowed to open at all in Level 4 and Level 5.

Local train services

The local train services will not be thrown open for the general public. It will be restricted for medical and essential services.


In Level 1, restaurants can open normally, while in Level 5, only home delivery is allowed. In Level 2, restaurants will have to run with 50% capacity. In Level 3, they can have a 50% capacity till 4 pm on weekdays. In Level 4, only parcel and takeaway services are allowed.

Shopping Malls, PVRs

They can resume normal operations in districts under Level 1, however, in Level 2, these establishments will have to function with 50 per cent capacity. In Levels 3,4, and 5, Malls, theatres and multiplexes will remain shut.

According to the guidelines, the situation will be assessed every Thursday by the Public Health Department.

Find your daily dose of news & explainers in your WhatsApp. Stay updated, Stay informed-  Follow DNA on WhatsApp.

Live tv