Kota Lok Sabha constituency: Candidates for 2019 LS poll, past results, all updates

BJP's Om Birla and Congress' Ramnarayan Meena will be up in the key contest in Kota constituency. In the 4th phase, a total of 71 seats across 8 states will witness Lok Sabha election 2019.


DNA Web Team

Updated: Apr 27, 2019, 05:16 PM IST

Edited by


Kota Lok Sabha constituency: Parliamentary constituency Kota will go to polls on April 29 in the fourth phase of Lok Sabha election. BJP's Om Birla and Congress' Ramnarayan Meena will be up in the key contest in 2019. In the 4th phase, a total of 71 seats across 8 states will witness Lok Sabha election 2019.  

Kota Lok Sabha constituency consists of eight assembly segments which are Keshoraipatan (SC), Bundi, Pipalda, Sangod, Kota North, Kota South, Ladpura, Ramganj Mandi (SC). 

Despite belonging to Scheduled Tribe (ST) Ramnarayan Meena has never contested elections from a reserved seat. Given that Kota constituency has a considerable population of people belonging to Meena community, Congress candidate is definitley having an upper hand in the upcoming elections. 

Ramnarayan Meena was first elected to Lok Sabha in 1988 but lost the seat in 1999 when Atal Bihari Vajpayee government fell. 

While Congress is banking upon Ramnarayan Meena, BJP is keeping in its sitting MP Om Birla who won 2014 election after defeating Congress' Ijyaraj Singh by a margin of over 2 lakh votes. 

Kota Lok Sabha constituency 2019 candidates 

BJP: Om Birla
Congress: Ramnarayan Meena 

Kota Lok Sabha election results in 2014, 2009 and 2004


Winning candidate: Om Birla (BJP)

Losing candidate: Ijyaraj Singh (Congress)


Winning candidate: Ijyaraj Singh (Congress)
Losing candidate: Shyam Sharma Bisnoi (BJP)


Winning candidate: Raghuveer Singh  (BJP)

Losing candidate: Hari Mohan Sharma (Congress)  

Rajasthan has a total of 25 parliamentary seats which will go to polls in two phases. Here is the seat-wise break-up in which phase, the election will be held in Rajasthan constituencies. 

13 out of 25 Rajasthan constituencies will go to polls in Lok Sabha election 4th phase, April 29: Tonk-Sawai Madhopur, Ajmer, Pali, Jodhpur, Barmer, Jalore, Udaipur, Banswara, Chittorgarh, Rajsamand, Bhilwara, Kota, Jhalawar-Baran. 

Remaining 12 Rajasthan constituencies will go to polls in Lok Sabha election 5th phase, May 06: Ganganagar, Bikaner, Churu, Jhunjhunu, Sikar, Jaipur Rural, Jaipur, Alwar, Bharatpur, Karauli-Dholpur, Dausa, Nagaur

Rajasthan is one of the key states in the Hindi-belt both the national parties — BJP and Congress — are set to give a tough competition to each other. Rajasthan has a total of 4,84,79,229 voters.

BJP's alliance in Rajasthan 

The BJP is contesting polls in alliance with Rashtriya Loktantrik Party (RLP) in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. Led by Jat leader Hanuman Beniwal, RLP won Khinvsar, Merta and Bhopalgarh seats in 2018 Rajasthan Assembly elections.

Hanuman Beniwal is a former BJP leader who was ousted from the party after his differences with former chief minister Vasundhara Raje. However, after the 2018 assembly election results, which led the BJP to lose the state to Congress, it has aligned with the RLP. Looking at the presence of RLP's presence in some regions, BJP may encash benefit in districts like Ajmer, Pali, Barmer, and Jodhpur. 

Congress' alliance in Rajasthan

Congress is going to contest all 25 seats in the forthcoming election. However, in assembly election 2018, it has allied with Rashtriya Lok Dal led by Ajit Singh, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) and Sharad Yadav’s Loktantrik Janata Dal. 

Role of Rajasthan Assembly election 2018 results

In 2018, Congress dethrone BJP from power after it won 100 seats in 200 constituency assembly. The BJP which was in power secured 73 seats and couldn't retain the state. Going by the 2018 results, if anti-incumbency wave continues against the BJP, then it will affect BJP's tally which won all 25 Lok Sabha seats in 2014 elections. It was for the first time since 1989 that Congress failed to win even a single seat in 2014 Lok Sabha polls. 

However, it is very hard to predict whether there will be a repeat of 2018 assembly polls or the Modi factor would once again work. In 2014, BJP's total vote share was 54.9

Lok Sabha election 2019 is being held in 7-phases. The first, second and third voting have already taken place. The remaining phases will go to polls on April 29 (4th phase), May 06 (5th phase), May 12 (6th phase) and May 19 (7ht phase).

Find your daily dose of news & explainers in your WhatsApp. Stay updated, Stay informed-  Follow DNA on WhatsApp.

Live tv