Korba Lok Sabha constituency: Candidates for 2019 LS poll, past results, all updates

Korba Lok Sabha constituency

Latest News

One of the 11 parliamentary constituencies in Chhattisgarh, Korba Lok Sabha constituency will go to polls in the third phase of general elections on April 23. The Korba Lok Sabha constituency in Naxal-affected Chhattisgarh covers districts of Korba, Koriya and Bilaspur districts. 

The seat came into existence only in 2008 after delimitation exercise and the first election was held in 2009. The Congress and the BJP have held the seat once each. While Congress' Charan Das Mahant won from here in 2009, Banshilal Mahto of the BJP won in 2014. 

However, Mahto has not been fielded by the BJP as the party decided to not repeat candidates in any of the 11 seats in the state. In 2019 Lok Sabha elections, the BJP has fielded Jyoti Nand Dubey and Jyotsna Mahant is contesting on the Congress ticket. 

Janjgir-Champa Lok Sabha constituency comprises eight legislative assembly segments: Bharatpur-Sonhat, Manendragarh and Baikunthpur constituencies in Koriya district; Rampur, Korba, Katghora and Pali-Tanakhar in Korba district and Marwahi assembly segment in Bilaspur district. 

The Congress hopes to win the seat in 2019 after its impressive show in Assembly elections last year. The Congress won 68 seats in 90-member Legislative Assembly. 

The polling on this seat will be held during the third phase of Lok Sabha elections on April 23. Seven constituencies of Chhattisgarh's 11 Lok Sabha seats - Surguja, Raigarh, Janjgir-Champa, Korba, Bilaspur, Durg and Raipur- will go to polls in the third phase. The counting of votes of the Lok Sabha election 2019 will be conducted on May 23.

Find your daily dose of news & explainers in your WhatsApp. Stay updated, Stay informed-  Follow DNA on WhatsApp.

Live tv