Delhi Assembly Election Results 2020: AAP's Surendra Kumar wins by 19,488 votes against BJP's Ranjit Kashyap in Gukalpur

The AAP has dropped sitting MLA Fateh Singh and has instead fielded Surendra Kumar who joined the AAP in October last year.

Latest News

Gukalpur assembly constituency is one of the 70 assembly constituencies in Delhi and is a part of North East Delhi Lok Sabha constituency. The constituency which came into existence after delimitation in 2008 is reserved for candidates from the scheduled castes. 

There are about 1.97 eligible voters in this constituency.

In the first assembly election held after 2008 delimitation, BSP's Surendra Kumar won the seat by 3,000 votes against Congress' Balzor Singh. BJP's Ranjeet Singh was placed third, just 900 votes behind Balzor Singh.

In the 2013 election, Ranjeet Singh came on top against Surendra Kumar who contested as an independent this time. The AAP came third while the Congress was placed at the fourth position. 

In the 2015 election, Fateh Singh of the AAP defeated BJP's Ranjeet Singh by nearly 32,000 votes. Surendra Kumar, who was back to the BSP, came third and polled more than 30,000 votes. 

In 2020, the AAP had dropped Fateh Singh and had instead fielded Surendra Kumar who joined the AAP in October last year after a short stint with the BJP. He was facing BJP's Ranjit Kashyap and Congress' Dr SP Singh.

Gukalpur assembly constituency result: AAP's Surendra Kumar wins by 19,488 votes against BJP's Ranjit Kashyap

Surendra Kumar: 88452

Ranjit Kashyap: 68964

Delhi Assembly elections were held on February 8 while counting of votes were conducted on Tuesday, February 11. 

The ruling AAP emerged victorious in the triangular contest with the BJP and the Congress. The party won 63 of the 70 assembly seats that went to polls on February 8. The BJP won seven seats while the Congress again failed to open its account. 

The Kejriwal-led AAP had won 67 seats in the 70-member assembly in 2015 assembly elections, defying all expectations. The Congress failed to open its account in the assembly and the BJP was able to win three seats. 

Find your daily dose of news & explainers in your WhatsApp. Stay updated, Stay informed-  Follow DNA on WhatsApp.

Live tv