Anandpur Sahib Lok Sabha Election Result 2019 Punjab: Manish Tewari gains seat for Congress

Manish Tewari wrested the Anandpur Sahib seat from Shiromani Akali Dal nominee Prem Singh Chandumajra on Thursday.

Latest News

Anandpur Sahib Lok Sabha Election Results 2019 

Former Union minister and Congress candidate Manish Tewari wrested the Anandpur Sahib seat from Shiromani Akali Dal nominee Prem Singh Chandumajra on Thursday. Tewari defeated the two-time MP by a margin of 46,884 votes, according to the Election Commission results. The senior Congress leader had been in the lead against Chandumajra since counting of votes began at 8 am.

Final Result: Manish Tewari, INC 428045 (39.57%), Professor Prem Singh Chandumajra, SAD 381161 (35.24%)

Punjab Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

The Congress is set to improve its tally in Punjab to eight seats, while the SAD-BJP combine and the Aam Aadmi Party are heading for four and one seats, respectively.

The Congress won in Amritsar, Faridkot, Anandpur Sahib, Jalandhar, Khadoor Sahib, Ludhiana, Fatehgarh Sahib and Patiala seats.

The Shiromani Akali Dal, which was looking to resurrect itself in the polls following the backlash over the issue of desecration of religious scriptures, registered victory from Ferozepur and Bathinda seats. While SAD chief Sukhbir Singh Badal won from Ferozepur, union minister Harsimrat Kaur Badal won from Bathinda for the third time. 

The BJP took the Hoshiarpur and Gurdaspur seats. Actor-turned-politician Sunny Deol beat state Congress chief Sunil Jakhar in Gurdaspur. In Hoshiarpur, BJP candidate and former bureaucrat Som Prakash emerged victorious.

The Aam Aadmi Party appears to be decimated in Punjab as it held only Sangrur seat, where the party's state chief, Bhagwant Mann held on to his seat.

In the 2014 Lok Sabha polls, while the SAD-BJP combine had won six seats, AAP and the Congress had bagged four and three seats, respectively.

Anandpur Sahib Lok Sabha constituency profile

Election in Anandpur Sahib parliamentary constituency was held on May 19 in the 7th phase (last phase) of the general election 2019. The key contest here was among BJP's alliance partner SAD's Professor Prem Singh Chandumajra, Congress' Manish Tewari, AAP's Narinder Singh Shergill and BSP's Sodhi Vikram Singh.

Anandpur Sahib Lok Sabha constituency 2019 candidates

SAD: Professor Prem Singh Chandumajra
Congress: Manish Tewari 
AAP: Narinder Singh Shergill
BSP: Sodhi Vikram Singh. 

Congress candidate Manish Tewari has been a former Union Minister and a spokesperson for the Congress party. Earlier in the month, Manish Tewari while hitting out at PM Modi said he doubted if Prime Minister knew about freedom fighter Bhagat Singh as the PM never turned up to pay respects to the martyr.

Tewari who is up against Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) leader and sitting MP Prem Singh Chandumajra, said, "I really doubt if PM Modi has any idea about 'Shaheed-e-Azam' Bhagat Singh as he never turned up to pay respects to the legendary hero here," Tewari was speaking in a public meeting. 

He announced that the first thing he would do after getting elected would be to move a resolution in Parliament to officially declare Bhagat Singh as 'Shaheed-e-Azam'. "His sacrifice in India's freedom struggle remains unmatched, unparalleled and officially unacknowledged, as we have failed to recognise it on record," Tewari added.

"Our great martyrs like Bhagat Singh, Sukhdev and Rajguru have not got their due," he claimed, adding we, at least, owe a respectable acknowledgment and gratitude towards our great martyrs without whose sacrifices we would not have been here today," Manish Tewari said. 

Anandpur Sahib results 2014 and 2009 


Winning candidate: Prem Singh Chandumajra (SAD)

Losing candidate: Ambika Soni  (Congress)


Winning candidate: Ravneet Singh (Congress)

Losing candidate: Dr. Daljit Singh Cheema (SAD)

Punjab has 13 parliamentary constituencies where the election will be held in the last phase of the general election on May 19. In 2014, out of total 13 Lok Sabha seats, Shiromani Akali Dal had won 4 seats, AAP had also won 4 seats, Congress bagged 3 seats and BJP won only 2 seats. The vote share of the Congress party in 2014 was 33.2%, while BJP got only 8.8% votes.

Lok Sabha election 2019 is being held in 7 phase. Voting in the first six phases have already got over while the 7th and the last phase will go to polls on May 19. Counting of votes will be held on May 23.

Find your daily dose of news & explainers in your WhatsApp. Stay updated, Stay informed-  Follow DNA on WhatsApp.

Live tv