DUSU Election Results 2017: NSUI wins President and VP post, will go to court for 3rd seat

Last year, ABVP had won the post of president, vice president and secretary. NSUI was elected to the post of joint secretary.

Latest News
DUSU Election Results 2017: NSUI wins President and VP post, will go to court for 3rd seat
NSUI supporters celebrating after the counting


The Congress student wing National Students Union of India (NSUI) has won the posts of President and Vice-President. BJP's student wing Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) has won the post of Secretary. Re-counting is on for the post of joint secretary. According to PTI, ABVP has won the jt-secy post. However, NSUI has rejected the revised results. 

NSUI handle on Twitter indicated that the party is looking to go to High Court to challenge the result. According to NSUI they have won 3, not 2 seats. 

Last year, ABVP had won the post of president, vice president, and secretary. NSUI candidate was elected to the post of joint secretary.

Rocky Tuseed of NSUI winning the post of president is being seen as a major setback for ABVP as it was hopeful of retaining this position. NSUI has won the post of president after four years. 

Students' outfits had contested for a total of four positions: President, Vice-President, Secretary and Joint Secretary. A total of 43% voter turnout was recorded. 

Here are the total number of candidates who were in the fray: 24 Presidential candidates; 10 Vice-Presidential candidates; 5 Secretary candidates; 5 Joint Secretary candidates.

NSUI's Rocky Tusheed won the president's post by a margin of 1,590 votes, while the party's Kunal Sehrawat defeated the ABVP candidate by 175 votes. ABVP's Mahamedha Nagar defeated NSUI's Minakshi Meena by 2,624 votes to win the post of secretary

Live updates: 

5.25 PM

Deepinder Hooda confirms that NSUI will go to court to challenge the election result. 


Reports indicate NSUI is planning to go to High Court, over the election results. According to them, the results are manipulated by BJP. Currently the top leaders are meeting at 10 Janapath to devise strategy. 

3:35 PM

Congress VP Rahul Gandhi congratulates NSUI for winning in DU

3:00 PM




1:18 PM

Close contest in Delhi University Students’ Union. ABVP is leading on Vice President and Secretary posts; NSUI is ahead on President and Joint Secretary posts.

1:02 PM

The main contestants for the DUSU presidential post are ABVP’s Rajat Choudhary, NSUI’s Rocky Tusheed, AISA’s Parul Chauha, independent candidates Raja Choudury and Alka.

Earlier, the Delhi High Court gave a go-ahead to the Delhi University to declare the results on Tuesday for the post of President in the Delhi University Students Union (DUSU) election. The court's order came on a plea by the University seeking modification of its September 8 interim order by which it had allowed National Students Union of India (NSUI) presidential candidate Rocky Tuseed to contest the election but directed the varsity not to declare the results for the post of the President. 

ABVP candidates: President candidate – Rajjat Chaudhary, VP - Parth Rana, Secretary - Mahamedhaa Nagar, Jt. Sec. - Uma Shankar. 

NSUI candidates:  President - Rocky Tuseed, Vice President - Kunal Sehrawat, Secretary - Minakshi Meena, Jt. Sec. - Avinash Yadav. 

AISA candidates: President - Parul Chauhan, Vice President - Aditya , Secretary - Jaishree , Jt. Sec. - Akash Gupta 

Find your daily dose of news & explainers in your WhatsApp. Stay updated, Stay informed-  Follow DNA on WhatsApp.

Live tv