Film review: 'The Hobbit - The Desolation of Smaug' is a must watch for fans of the series and books

Friday, 13 December 2013 - 4:35pm IST Updated: Friday, 13 December 2013 - 4:36pm IST | Place: Mumbai | Agency: DNA

Film: The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug
Cast: Dean O'Gorman, Orlando Bloom, Graham McTavish, Ian McKellen, James Nesbitt, Ken Stott, Martin Freeman, Richard Armitage, Evangeline Lilly
Director: Peter Jackson
Rating: ****

What's it about

If JRR Tolkien was alive he would have found a long lost brother in Peter Jackson! The director of the Lord of the Ring series who followed up the award winning series with a cinematic interpretation of The Hobbit has put together a solid second part with The Desolation of Smaug.

Whether you have read the book or not, The Hobbit is easily one of the most mystical and enchanting tales of our times. Bilbo (Freeman)and the Dwarves led by Thorin Okansheild (Armitage) return to make their journey away from The Shire moving towards the Lonely Mountain in search of reclaiming their old treasure.

Along the way they bump into the Elves with Legolas (Bloom) and Tauriel (Lilly) who help them in fighting the Orcs. The real hero of the film however is the menacing dragon Smaug voiced by an unrecognisable Benedict Cumberbatch.

What's hot
Fans of the book won't be disappointed. Staying true to the literature is something Jackson has managed well through out the series. This time around he does full justice to two important passages from the book - the dwarves escape in the barrels and Gandalf's first real encounter with Sauron.

Both are beautifully brought alive on screen without any haste or rush to cut to the chase. Being the fan boy he is, Jackson pays attention to detail in every little scene, be it the set, art work or costumes, everything is impeccable.

Both MirkWood and Lake-Town look stunningly real. Smaug just as the book looks evil, yet intelligent at the same time. His banter with Bilbo knowing why he's  come visiting makes for some splendid viewing.

What's not
3D doesn't really play much of an important part in the film, except a few scenes. Also the length will be a big downer for those not familiar with the story line.

The first half takes a while to settle in and move on. We wish there was more of Gandalf and less of Bard who gets more screen time than deserved. Despite the pace, the film is important because it provides the much needed push to make the final chapter glorious.

Like The Two Towers in LOTR, The Desolation of Smaug is almost a buffer for the final climax in this adventurous story.

What to do
A must watch for fans of the series and books, the film leaves you wanting for more!

Watch trailer:




Jump to comments