Feb 22, 2024, 08:13 PM IST

Active players to captain more than one team in IPL history

Pavan Naidu

David Warner

Australia batter Warner led SRH to register first IPL win in 2016. Later, he joined Delhi Capitals (DC) as captain.

Shreyas Iyer

Indian batter Iyer has experience of captaining two teams in IPL (DC and KKR). He also led DC to their first IPL final in 2020, which they eventually lost to Mumbai Indians.

KL Rahul

KL Rahul is the captain of Lucknow Super Giants. Earlier, he used to captain Punjab Kings in 2020-2021 IPL seasons.

Shikhar Dhawan

India's opening batter Dhawan is the current captain of Punjab Kings. In the past, he has also led SRH. 

Dinesh Karthik

India's wicket-keeper batter Karthik has captained Delhi Daredevils in 2010 in the absence of Gautam Gambhir. Later, he also captained KKR from 2018-2020.

Steve Smith

Australia cricketer Smith has captained three teams in IPL history, RPS, DC and Pune Warriors India. 

MS Dhoni

Former India captain MS Dhoni has been a part of the IPL since the inaugural season in 2008. During his stint, he has captained two teams, Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Rising Pune Supergiants (RPS). He also led CSK to five IPL triumphs.