May 25, 2024, 06:41 PM IST

Overseas captains to reach IPL final

Chankesh Rao

In 2008, Shane Warne successfully captained the Rajasthan Royals to victory in the IPL final, securing a win over CSK by 3 wickets.

In the IPL 2009 final, the Deccan Chargers, led by Adam Gilchrist, emerged victorious over RCB with a six-run margin.

Daniel Vettori captained the Royal Challengers Bangalore team in the final of the 2011 IPL against CSK

Australian cricketer George Bailey served as the captain of the Punjab Kings when they reached the final of IPL in 2014.

In the IPL 2016 final, Sunrisers Hyderabad, led by David Warner, emerged victorious over RCB, captained by Virat Kohli, with a margin of eight runs.

Rising Pune Supergiants competed in the final of the IPL 2017 under the leadership of Steve Smith, but unfortunately, they were defeated by MI.

Under the leadership of Kane Williamson, Sunrisers Hyderabad successfully secured a spot in the IPL 2018 final.

Eoin Morgan captained the Kolkata Knight Riders team in the IPL 2021 final, where they were defeated by CSK.

In his inaugural year as captain in the IPL, Pat Cummins has successfully guided SRH to the final in 2024.