May 22, 2024, 06:06 PM IST

Indian to win most Player of the Tournament in T20 World Cup

Chankesh Rao

The upcoming T20 World Cup presents a significant opportunity for India to break their ICC trophy drought.

Experienced veterans Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli have been welcomed back into the squad for the upcoming mega event.

The squad has received mixed reviews, with many expressing concerns that India's pace attack relies too heavily on Jasprit Bumrah.

India is scheduled to compete against Ireland on June 5, followed by matches against Pakistan on June 9, USA on June 12, and Canada on June 15.

India was the inaugural winner of the T20 World Cup, with MS Dhoni captaining the team to victory in the 2007 tournament. 

India has demonstrated remarkable consistency in T20 World Cups, having reached the final in 2014 and the semifinals in both 2016 and 2022. 

Virat Kohli is the sole Indian cricketer to have been honored with the POT award in the T20 World Cup. Kohli's exceptional performance has earned him this prestigious accolade not once, but twice.

In the 2014 T20 World Cup, Kohli was awarded the Player of the Tournament (POT) after scoring an impressive 316 runs. 

Virat Kohli once again claimed the award in the 2016 edition after scoring an impressive 273 runs in five games.