Feb 22, 2024, 09:57 PM IST

Indian players who won Man of the Match awards on ODI debut

Pavan Naidu

Sandeep Patil

Sandeep Patil became the first Indian cricketer to bag the Man of the Match award on the ODI debut match. He earned it after his fantastic 64-run knock against Australia in 1980.

Mohit Sharma

Indian bowler Mohit Sharma made his ODI debut against Zimbabwe in 2013. During his first ODI outing, he earned the Man of the Match award after recording crucial bowling figures of 2/26.

KL Rahul

Indian wicket-keeper batter KL Rahul had a memorable first outing in ODI as ended up winning the Player of the Match award for his unbeaten century against Zimbabwe in 2016.

Hardik Pandya

India’s star all-rounder Hardik Pandya also joins the elite list after taking 3/31 against New Zealand in 2016. He became the fourth Indian bowler to earn a Man of the Match award on his ODI debut.