May 15, 2024, 11:12 PM IST

Indian captains with most defeats in IPL

Chankesh Rao

KL Rahul currently holds the fifth position. He has achieved 30 losses and 30 victories in his 62 matches as captain.

Rahul embarked on his captaincy journey with Punjab Kings, leading the team in both 2020 and 2021. He made the transition to Lucknow Super Giants in 2022 mega-auction.

Gautam Gambhir currently holds the fourth position in terms of his captaincy record. Throughout his career, he has lost 57 matches and emerged victorious in 71.

Gambhir achieved significant success as the captain of KKR, leading the team to victory in two IPL seasons - 2012 and 2014. 

Rohit Sharma currently holds the third position with 67 defeats out of 158 matches. During his tenure, MI emerged victorious in 87 matches under his leadership.

In a surprising move ahead of the IPL 2024 season, the Mumbai Indians decided to replace Rohit Sharma as captain. Rohit now plays under the leadership of Hardik Pandya.

Royal Challengers Bengaluru struggled to enhance their performance under the leadership of Virat Kohli, resulting in a disappointing loss of 70 matches.

Virat Kohli led RCB to the final of the IPL 2016, where they were defeated by SRH. Following the conclusion of IPL 2021, Virat Kohli stepped down as captain of RCB.

MS Dhoni currently holds the record for the most defeats among Indian captains in the IPL, with a total of 91 losses out of 226 matches under his leadership.

Dhoni served as the captain for both the CSK and the RPS in the IPL. During his tenure with CSK, the team secured five IPL titles under his leadership.