Jun 17, 2024, 07:04 PM IST

Indian captains who lost finals of ICC events

Pavan Naidu

Team India stand out as one of the strongest teams in the world of cricket.

There has been some occasions when India has secured World Cup titles. But their have also been occasions when India showcased commendable performance on the ground, progressing themselves to the final and eventually lost.

Here are the captains of the Indian Team who have experienced losing finals of ICC tournaments.

Captain Rohit Sharma guided Team India to the final of the ODI World Cup 2023. India which was on an unbeaten run was defeated by Australia in the final by 6 wickets.

Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma and Co. suffered a 209-run defeat in the 2023 World Test Championship final against Australia at the Oval.

Rohit Sharma

Under Virat Kohli’s leadership, India reached the final of the 2017 Champions Trophy. But ended up losing to arch-rivals Pakistan by a huge margin of 180 runs.

Virat Kohli

Kohli also experienced another ICC final loss in 2021. The Virat Kohli-led side then suffered an eight-wicket loss against New Zealand in the final of the 2021 World Test Championship.

Virat Kohli

MS Dhoni has led India to glory in the 2007 T20 World Cup, 2011 ODI World Cup, and 2013 Champions Trophy. However, India under Dhoni’s leadership also experienced a six-wicket defeat in the 2014 T20 World Cup final against Sri Lanka.

MS Dhoni

Back in 2003, Sourav Ganguly captained Team India in ICC ODI World Cup. They reached the final stage but ended up losing to Australia by 125 runs.

Sourav Ganguly