May 25, 2024, 11:42 PM IST

Indian captains to play most IPL finals

Chankesh Rao

The current season of the IPL is coming to a close, with the final match set to take place in Chennai this Sunday.

Kolkata Knight Riders secured their spot in the final after defeating the Sunrisers Hyderabad in Qualifier 1.

Shreyas Iyer led Kolkata Knight Riders to a successful chase of 160 runs after bowling Sunrisers Hyderabad out in Qualifier 1 earlier this week.

Here is a list of Indian captains who have made the most appearances in IPL finals.

1. MS Dhoni

The CSK icon holds the record for playing the most IPL finals as a captain. He has played in 10 finals, emerging victorious in five of them.

2. Rohit Sharma

The Mumbai Indians legend boasts a flawless record in IPL finals, emerging victorious in all five encounters (2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, and 2020).

3. Gautam Gambhir

Gautam Gambhir successfully led the Kolkata Knight Riders to two finals in 2012 and 2014, emerging victorious on both occasions.

4. Hardik Pandya

The star all-rounder stands alone as the only captain to reach back-to-back finals in his first two seasons at the helm.

5. Shreyas Iyer

The KKR batter is set to make his second appearance as captain in the IPL final this season. He previously led DC to the final in 2020.