Jun 21, 2024, 08:59 PM IST

Captains with most ICC trophies

Chankesh Rao

5. Pat Cummins - 2

Australia, led by Cummins, managed to defeat India twice in a single year. They first emerged victorious in the WTC final. Then, six months later, they secured another win against India to claim the ODI World Cup 2023.

4. Daren Sammy - 2

Darren Sammy led his team to victory in the T20 World Cup twice during his career as captain. He first defeated Sri Lanka in the final in 2012, and then went on to win against England in 2016 at Eden Gardens in Kolkata.

3. Clive Lloyd - 2

Clive Lloyd’s team defeated Australia in the World Cup 1975 final at Lord’s and then defeated hosts England in the World Cup 1979 final.

2. MS Dhoni - 3

Dhoni’s men defeated Pakistan in the 2007 T20 WC  final and then they went on to win the ODI World Cup 2011. Two years later, MS Dhoni led the Indian team to win the ICC Champions Trophy in 2013.

1. Ricky Ponting - 4 

Ponting captained Australia to victory in the 2003 World Cup  and followed it up with another win in the 2007 World Cup. He also led the team to victory in the ICC Champions Trophy in 2006 and 2009.