Home » Sport

Ravichandran Ashwin bags Polly Umrigar award

Friday, 27 December 2013 - 9:29am IST | Place: Mumbai | Agency: DNA

The Indian cricket board will reward off spinner Ravichandran Ashwin with the Polly Umrigar Award for being India’s best international cricketer of 2012-13.

India’s best performers in the senior and the junior level cricket in a period of 12 months from October 1, 2012 to September  30, 2013, will be felicitated at the BCCI’s annual awards ceremony, to be held in Mumbai on January 11.

Ashwin took 43 wickets and scored 263 runs in Tests. In ODIs, he took 24 wickets from 18 matches and three wickets from four T20Is.

Abhishek Nayar will receive the Lala Amarnath Award for being the best all-rounder in the 2012-13 edition of the Ranji Trophy. He scored 966 runs at an average of 96.6.

The Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) will collect the trophy for the Best Overall Performance in the 2012-13 season. The various teams representing the MCA won the Ranji Trophy, Under-25 CK Nayudu Trophy, Under-16 Vijay Merchant Trophy, Women’s Under-19 Inter-State tournament, and finished runners-up in Under-19 Cooch Behar Trophy.

The achievers of 2012-13 apart, Rohit Sharma will receive the Dilip Sardesai Award for being India’s best cricketer in the recent Test series against the West Indies. He scored hundreds in both Tests.

Jump to comments

Around the web