Home »  Sport

IPL 6: Delhi Daredevils defeat Kolkata Knight Riders by 7 wickets

Wednesday, 1 May 2013 - 8:03pm IST Updated: Wednesday, 1 May 2013 - 11:44pm IST | Place: Raipur | Agency: dna webdesk

Delhi chased down the target with ease and won the match.

Match as it happened

David Warner played a great knock to ensure that Delhi chased down the target with ease and won the match.

Delhi Daredevils produced a commendable bowling performance and were complemented by brilliant fielding which enabled them to restrict defending champions Kolkata Knight Riders to 136 for seven in a Pepsi Indian Premier League match, here today.

Incidentally, KKR's total got some sort of respectability due to Delhi's domestic veterans Rajat Bhatia (26 not out) and Sumit Narwal (23, 15 balls, 4x4).

The duo added 30 runs in only three overs as KKR managed to cross 130-run mark despite being five down for 50 even before the halfway mark.

Brett Lee (16 not out) also used the long handle to good effect as Ashish Nehra (1/37) gave away 16 runs in the final over of the innings.

Irfan Pathan (1/16), Shahbaz Nadeem (1/23), Morne Morkel (1/22) bowled well while Umesh Yadav (2/36) was a tad expensive although he got couple of wickets.

Daredevils got an important breakthrough off the second delivery of the match when rival skipper Gautam Gambhir (0) was unlucky to be run-out. Irfan did well on his follow through as Gambhir trying to rush for a quick single from the non-striker end fell short of his ground.

With pitch offering some lateral movement, Umesh bowled a fantastic first over where he swung the ball away from the batsman at a brisk pace. One such delivery saw Manvinder Bisla (4) trying to make room for a shot over extra cover only to see his off-stump knocked back.

Yusuf Pathan (20) played and missed a number of deliveries before hitting Morkel over long-on for a six but was out of the very next delivery when the South African speedster pitched it further up.

He again tried to hoick it but only managed the top edge and Irfan, who was positioned at '45', took a well-judged catch running backwards.


Delhi Daredevils: Mahela Jayawardene (captain), Virender Sehwag, Unmukt Chand, DA Warner, Ben Rohrer, Kedhar Jadhav, Irfan Pathan, Shahbaz Nadeem, Morne Morkel, Umesh Yadav, Ashish Nehra.

Kolkata Knight Riders: Manvinder Bisla, Gautam Gambhir (captain), Jacques Kallis, Yusuf Pathan, Eoin Morgan, Debabrata Das, Rajat Bhatia, Brett Lee, Sumit Narwal, Sunil Narine, Laxmipathy Balaji.

Jump to comments

Recommended Content