Home »  Sport

IPL 2013 Final Match Preview: Mumbai Indians may have an advantage over troubled Chennai Super Kings

Sunday, 26 May 2013 - 11:11am IST Updated: Sunday, 26 May 2013 - 8:15pm IST | Agency: dna webdesk

Sunday's final is the fourth meeting between the teams this season; CSK faces an uphill task as they face the formidable MI in the wake of the IPL betting controversy.

Catch all the live updates here.

The final match of the sixth edition of the Indian Premiere League (IPL) in Kolkata on Sunday will be held under the shadow of the IPL spot fixing scandal.

Despite Chennai Super Kings (CSK) official Gurunath Meiyappan being at the centre of the betting controversy, the sixth edition of the IPL has managed to reach its scheduled end where two times champions, CSK will take on Mumbai Indians (MI) in the final of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2013 at Eden Gardens, Kolkata on Sunday.

Sunday's final is the fourth meeting between the teams this season. MI defeated CSK twice earlier this season before the latter came out victorious in the Qualifier 1 to move straight to the final.

CSK have had an outstanding season as they the only team to have won more games than they lost away from home this season.

With the tournament's highest run-scorer and joint top wicket-taker in their team, CSK has the potential to lift the IPL trophy for a third time. However, to make this possibility a reality, captain MS Dhoni and his boys will not only have to overcome the upheaval caused by Meiyappan's arrest, but they will also have to deal with a tough opponent.

MI came into the contest after defeating Rajasthan Royals by four wickets in the Qualifier 2. Though they were defeated by CSK in Qualifier 1, they bounced back in the next game to book a place in the final. They have good record against the Chennai franchise in the IPL series and there is a fair chance for them to clinch the title of champions this season.


Chennai Super Kings: Murali Vijay, Michael Hussey, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni(w/c), S Badrinath, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohit Mahipal Sharma, Albie Morkel, Dwayne Bravo, Ben Hilfenhaus, Faf du Plessis, Nuwan Kulasekara, Shadab Jakati, Srikkanth Anirudha, Wriddhiman Saha, Baba Aparajith, Vijay Shankar, Akila Dananjaya Perera, Chris Morris, Jason Holder, Ben Laughlin, Dirk Nannes, Ronit More, Imtiaz Ahmed, Ankit Rajpoot, R Karthikeyan

Mumbai Indians: Dwayne Smith, Aditya Tare, Dinesh Karthik(w), Rohit Sharma(c), Kieron Pollard, Ambati Rayudu, Harbhajan Singh, Rishi Dhawan, Mitchell Johnson, Lasith Malinga, Pragyan Ojha, Sachin Tendulkar, Abu Nechim, Aiden Blizzard, Amitoze Singh, Dhawal Kulkarni, Jalaj Saxena, James Franklin, Munaf Patel, Pawan Suyal, Suryakumar Yadav, Sushant Marathe, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ricky Ponting, Phillip Hughes, Glenn Maxwell, Jacob Oram, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Akshar Patel, Javed Khan, Jasprit Bumrah

Jump to comments

Recommended Content