Home »  Sport

Accident near Motor Speedway, 4 dead

Sunday, 1 June 2014 - 7:20am IST | Place: Coimbatore | Agency: dna

Drivers race in silence as JK Racing Championship starts on a bad note

The Round 1 of the JK Racing Championship 2014 started on a mournful note on Saturday as four car racing enthusiasts, three in their twenties, were killed in a road accident while on their way to Kari Motor Speedway, Coimbatore on Friday.

The car lost control and rammed into a nameboard killing K Pradeep (22), S Sanathkumar (22), Saravanakumar (20) and car tuner Swaminathan (40). Their inmate Deepak escaped with serious head injuries.

Dark Don Racing's Diljith Shaji won the Race 1 of LGB Formula four event and dedicated his win to Swaminathan (40). "He never shied off to fix anyone's car. I will genuinely miss him," said Diljith, who clocked 18:38.073 and was followed by teammate Sudarshan Rao in 18.45.147 and Meco Racing's Rahul Rangaswamy in 18:55.203.

Mumbai's Ameya Bafna came fourth with clocking 18:56.031.

Vishnu Prasad, who started the race at pole position, took the chequered flag of the JK Racing India Series' feature event FB02 in 16:44.861. Results: All 15 laps

JK FB 02 (Race 1): 1. Vishnu Prasad 16:44.861, 2. Akhil Rabindra 16:56.707, 3. Nayan Chetterjee 16:59.429.
LGB Formula 4 (Race 1): 1. Diljith Shaji 18:38.073, 2. Sudarshanrao 18:45.147, 3. Rahul Rangaswamy 18:55.203
Polo R Cup (Race 1): 1. Angad Singh Matharoo 19:27.254, 2. Anshul Shah 19:29.572, 3. Lee Keshav Yadav: 19:30.195

Jump to comments

Recommended Content