Home » Sport

FIFA World Cup 2014: Goal-line technology to be tweaked after France-Honduras confusion

Tuesday, 17 June 2014 - 12:09am IST | Place: Rio de Janeiro | Agency: AFP

World Cup chiefs said Monday they will modify the way decisions made by goal-line technology are communicated to fans after confusion during France's 3-0 victory over Honduras.

Sunday's Group E game in Porto Alegre made history after the system awarded a goal for the first time ever in international football.

The drama erupted three minutes after half-time when France striker Karim Benzema thumped a volley against the inside of a post.

The ball flew back across the face of goal before hitting Honduras goalkeeper Noel Valladares and then rebounding into the goal.

Valladares tried to scoop the ball to safety, but Brazilian referee Sandro Ricci awarded the goal -- classed as an own-goal -- after receiving an instant signal that the ball had crossed the line.

However Honduras officials reacted angrily after screens displaying the computer-generated animation of the incident flashed mixed messages.

A "No Goal" message was flashed up for Benzema's initial shot which hit the post, followed by a "Goal" message for the own goal by Valladares.

FIFA spokeswoman Delia Fischer said the "unique" nature of the incident -- the ball striking a post and rebounding into the Honduran goalkeeper -- had caused the confusion.

"Yesterday's situation was quite unique," she said, because it had triggered two animations.

"We are working to make it more clear. We will modify so you just see the 'goal' decision," Fischer said.

"There were no mistakes yesterday. It all worked as planned. However we are working to modify it to make much clearer for fans inside the stadiums."

Goal-line technology is being used for the first time at the 2014 World Cup following a U-turn by FIFA President Sepp Blatter.

It followed the notorious incident at the 2010 finals when England midfielder Frank Lampard had a valid goal disallowed against Germany despite replays showing the ball had crossed the line by several inches.


Jump to comments