Home »  News »  India »  Pune

By 11th round, Shivaji Adhalrao Patil's win from Shirur looks most likely

Friday, 16 May 2014 - 3:13pm IST | Place: Pune | Agency: dna

By mid afternoon, Shirur seat results looked like it would be in the favour of sitting Lok Sabha MP from Shirur Shivajirao Adhalrao-Patil. Leading from Round One itself with NCP's Devdatta Nikam coming a close second in the first half of day, the margin started growing by later half of counting. By 11th round, Adhalrao Patil had established a clear majority with 289382 votes counted over Nikam's 154595 count. By then, Adhalrao's hat trick victory looked like it was a sealed fate. Shirur witnessed its second Lok Sabha elections, as it has been formed after re-organisation of constituencies in the state. The Shirur constituency has 30 to 35 per cent urban and 65 to 70 per cent rural areas. The location boasts of pilgrimage centers including Bhimashankar, and places of historic importance such as Fort Shivneri (Junnar), which is the birth place of Maratha warrior-king Shivaji. 
Shirur Lok Sabha constituency has six assembly segments including Junnar, Ambegaon, Khed, Shirur, Bhosari and Hadapsar.

Shirur’s legacy
Most of the areas from the erstwhile Khed Lok Sabha constituency fall under Shirur barring Bhor and Mulshi. The LS seat from Khed was known to be a traditional Congress bastion, but Adhalrao Patil pulled it from under their nose in 2004, after defeating NCP candidate Ashok Mohol. Adhalrao Patil has retained his seat ever since Khed became Shirur for LS constituencies. Later in 2009, pit against a fresh opponent, Adhalrao Patil defeated NCP candidate Vilas Lande, an MLA from Bhosari with a huge margin of 1.78 lakh votes.

Jump to comments

Recommended Content