Martyred 26/11 policeman from Maharashtra gets President's Police Medal for Gallantry

Sunday, 26 January 2014 - 11:28am IST | Place: Mumbai | Agency: DNA

Two policemen from Maharashtra have been awarded the President's Police Medal for Gallantry (PPMG) this year, one of them posthumously. One policeman has also bagged the Police Medal for Gallantry (PMG), which will be awarded as part of Republic Day honours.

Sukuji Pardeshi, a head constable, was awarded the PPMG posthumously, along with then deputy police commissioner Rajvardhan Sinha, who had entered the Taj Mahal hotel to combat the Pakistani terrorists during the 26/11 attacks.

Sub-inspector Vitthal Pawar is the sole recipient of the PMG from state in this year's list.

The PPMG has been awarded to four personnel across India and the PMG to 44 officials. Police Medals for Distinguished Service have been awarded to 94 personnel and Police Medals for Meritorious Service to 624 officials across India.

Besides, another 41 Correctional Service Medals (awarded in recognition of the services of prison personnel) have also been announced on the eve of Republic Day. They include two officers who will get Correctional Service Medals for Distinguished Service and another 39 have been awarded the Correctional Service Medal for Meritorious Service from across the country.

The President's Medal for Distinguished Service has gone to police commissioner Sanjay Kumar, Aurangabad; joint commissioner of police Sadanand V Date, Mumbai; assistant commissioner of police Sunil L Deshmukh, Mumbai; and inspector Motiram M Pakhare of Police Training Centre, Nagpur.

Jump to comments

Around the web