Home » Money

New deadlines for digitised cable subscribers in Phase II cities

Saturday, 18 January 2014 - 9:44am IST | Place: Mumbai | Agency: DNA

Telecom Regulatory Authority of India (Trai) has set final deadline for entry of subscriber details in the subscriber management systems (SMS) in DAS phase II cities, failing which multi system operators (MSOs) will have to switch off TV signals of such subscriptions.

In a note issued on Friday, TRAI said that MSOs in 23 cities where 90% of the task of collecting consumer application forms (CAF) has been completed should cut off signals from January 27 to those subscribers who haven’t submitted their details.

The regulator said 80% of the task has been completed in the remaining eight cities viz. Patna, Ahmedabad, Ranchi, Bengaluru, Kalyan-Dombivali, Nagpur, Navi Mumbai and Thane. For these cities TRAI has set January 31, 2014 as the final deadline. As a result non-complying television subscribers in Rajkot, Surat, Vadodara, Faridabad, Mysore, Aurangabad, Nasik, Pimpri-Chinchwad, Pune, Sholapur, Amritsar, Ludhiana, Jaipur, Jodhpur, Agra, Allahabad, Ghaziabad, Kanpur, Lucknow, Meerut, Varanasi, Chandigarh and Howrah will face a black-out.

While new deadline being set for MSOs in Bhopal, Indore and Jabalpur in Madhya Pradesh is February 7, the last date in cities like Vishakhapatnam and Srinagar is February. However, no deadline has been fixed as this stage for the state of like Tamil Nadu and Hyderabad city given the pending legal cases regarding implementation of Digital Addressable Cable TV Systems (DAS).
MSOs will have to provide bills with exact breakup of charges and subscribers will have to insist for a bill and receipt or see blackout on their screens.

Jump to comments


Around the web