Home »  News »  India

Will Narendra Modi announce names of Governors for 7 states today?

Sunday, 6 July 2014 - 10:35am IST | Agency: dna webdesk

  • Arijit Sen dna

The National Democratic Alliance (NDA) government is likely to announce names of the Governors to be appointed in the seven states on Sunday. 

The new appointments by the central government will come after the governors of the states were reportedly asked to stepped down as they were appointed by the erstwhile Congress government. 

The names of former finance minister Yashwant Sinha, former MP Lalji Tandon and former union minister Ram Naik are doing the rounds.  

Uttar Pradesh Governor BL Joshi, Chhattisgarh Governor Shekhar Dutt and Nagaland Governor Ashwani Kumar had earlier stepped down from their respective posts. MK Narayanan (West Bengal) and BV Wanchoo (Goa) put in their papers later. 

Meanwhile, Karnataka Governor HR Bhardwaj and Tripura Governor Devanand Konwar retired. Bhardwaj was the Law Minister in UPA-I while Konwar was a former Congress Minister in Assam.  Both were appointed as Governors of their respective states in 2009.

ALSO READ: A case to dismiss Delhi’s Lieutenant Governor Najeeb Jung

The government had earlier suggested that the appointment of some new Governors will be done before the Budget Session of Parliament beginning July 7, saying a concrete situation will emerge only after three to four days. "I will not rule out anything now," Home Minister Rajnath Singh had told reporters. He was replying to a question on the possibility of appointment of some Governors before the start of the Parliament session. "I will be able to tell you only after 3-4 days," he said. Read more

First published on Zee News 


Jump to comments

Recommended Content